A Nice Surprise

8a3cc-11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

A surprise, by nature, is an unexpected happening.

We do not know what the future brings.

What wasn’t there the year before

Now warms you to your inner core.

How did it get there? I do not know.

It isn’t something that I sowed.

Was it carried by the wind?Was it dropped by a passing bird?

Maybe a squirrel, but that’s absurd.

No matter how I’m glad it’s there.

In this neighborhood it’s nothing rare.

So I will enjoy it while it’s here.

And hope it returns for a visit next year.

f1

f2

I did not plant any seeds this year and we didn’t have these last year.

 

11 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

11 responses to “A Nice Surprise

  1. I like your list of all the possible ways “it” could have got there. I also like how I want to keep reading to find out what “it” is. They you treated me to a photo! Your writing style is as surprising as the flower! Thanks for sharing!

  2. Terje

    Such a beautiful surprise. And a lovely poem inspired by it.

  3. Lovely to receive such a sweet surprise.Let’s hope it returns next year.

  4. He does and they certainly are.

  5. Such a pretty surprise that could have arrived via many routes. Love the bit of science today! 🙂

  6. How beautiful! And what a lovely surprise! One of my favorite flowers.

Leave a comment