Sometimes You Just Gotta Work

8a3cc-11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

Yesterday I mentioned that I was going to a PCTELA Board meeting this weekend.  I also said that I an chairing this year’s confluence.  As a result of this I need to present some information to the Board.  As of now I have prepared nothing.

Guess what I will be doing all afternoon?  The good thing is some of the big things are already in place.   have my four featured speakers all lined up.  Chief among them is Sharon Draper.  I am really excited that she agreed to speak at the conference.

What I need to do now is look at the session proposals I received, organize them, and let presenters know that their proposals have been accepted.  I did look over them as they came and I must say that they all sound interesting.  I know that I will be running around on those two days so chances are pretty good that I will not be able to attend any full session.

One other thing I need to do is look at possible authors for our author breakfast.  I do have some already lined up chief among them are Lynne Dorfman and  Rose Cappelli.  Thanks Rose and Lynne for agreeing to this.

So, because I have things to do I will end this post here.  Glad I don’t have to run anywhere today.

25 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

25 responses to “Sometimes You Just Gotta Work

  1. Having been on a conference committee, though not the chair, I know how much work this is. It already sounds wonderful!

  2. I want to come! What is PCTELA? I would love to hear Sharon Draper. And I’m moving Lynne’s and Rose’s Poetry Mentor Texts to the top of my WTR (want to read) PD pile. It’s a perfect choice for April. Good luck with the work!

  3. What a huge task, but I bet Rose can give you some advice since she did the conference in the fall. I can’t even imagine how one’s goes about getting all the speakers lined up and sessions planned. You do have your work cut out for you. Good luck!

  4. rosecappelli

    The best part about planning a conference is being able to breathe again when it is over! It is a lot of organizing, but the end result is worth it, and it comes with a tremendous feeling of accomplishment. I have a KSRA meeting this weekend where I am officially storing the last of the conference files and making my final report (with the proceeds check in hand). Good luck, Bob! Feel free to call on me anytime if I can help.

  5. That sounds like a lot of work, but I bet you’re thriving on it. Lots of luck with it, I bet it will be wonderful in your hands.

  6. I’m impressed with all the things you’ve been doing since your recent recovery from a health crisis. No one can accuse you of being a slacker…. You don’t seem too panicked about the upcoming conference, though. I was offered the job of planning the NYS TESOL conference next year but I turned it down. I decided I did not need that amount of stress in my life. I’d rather help in other ways. But good luck to you…it’s all in the pre-planning and taking it one day at a time!

  7. Judy C.

    It sounds as though you have everything well in hand. Chairing any event can be very trying and stressful. Be sure to let your committee handle some of the work – delegation is the name of them game. Good luck with this venture.

  8. You can do it! The plans you shared sound great (Sharon Draper!!! Lynn and Rose – love their slices!!!!). I hope you’re able to look back after it’s all over and breathe a satisfied sigh of relief.

  9. It sounds like a lot of work, but also a lot of fun, choosing, then planning the schedule, meeting famous (to us teachers) people, etc. My next book is going to be Stella by Starlight by Sharon Draper. I saw her present at my state conference a few years ago & she is a wonderful presenter. Good for you for having her, and then would love to see Rose and Lynne present. Their Poetry Mentor Text book is great.

  10. Bob,
    So love the crowd you will be hanging out! I heard Sharon Draper in St. Louis at ILA. She and Chis Crutcher had me cracking up with laughter the entire session!

    And then Rose and Lynne. . . just from their blogs and books, I would definitely be in line to see and hear them in person!

    Fun to be “busy” . . . keep the dr’s orders in mind so you don’t overdo it!

  11. Amy

    Bob, I am so glad I found your blog through this challenge, or maybe you found mine…not sure who was first. 🙂 I love the down to earth tone of your slices. I am not familiar with PCTELA so guess what I am going to check out now.

  12. You will be in great company…and i look forward to reading all about it!

  13. The conference sounds great! I love Sharon Draper. Best of luck with the planning.

Leave a comment