NYC Part 2

8a3cc-11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

So, we now have tickets for On Your Feet.  What will we see as our matinee choice?

This was a tough choice for me.  I wasn’t sure which of the shows playing, of those opening in the near future would be something I would want to see.

I thought I would start with shows opening in the Spring.  Most were new shows so that really wasn’t much help.  One show kept making the head of the top shows opening in 2016.

As a rule I don’t usually go by what critics say.  I have seen citric favorites and gone, “Huh?  That was suppose to be good?”  It just made me scratch my head.  I have also seen shows panned by the reviewers that I thoroughly enjoyed.  The most recent in this field was Big Fish.

Well, I broke down and decided to go with this highly anticipated show that will start previews this month.  I got on line, went to the site and searched for matinee tickets…orchestra on the aisle, of course.  They were available.  I snatched them.  We are now going to see Waitress.  I have seen the movie and must say it is not really my kind of show.  It is something that I think Kathy will enjoy so I am willing to sit through it.  Who knows. I might end up surprised.

12 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

12 responses to “NYC Part 2

  1. How sweet that you will try it because you think Kathy will like it. I hope it exceeds your expectations.

  2. Judy C.

    I think most any show would be enjoyable. Hope it is a good one.

  3. rosecappelli

    I know you will have a good time no matter what!

  4. I, too, have found that I have been disappointed by critics. Sounds like you were open-minded about the second choice. I like your style!

  5. I hope you both enjoy the show! I don’t know much about Waitrress; but Big Fish, the movie, is a huge hit in our house. My boys love the ending. They introduced my dad to the movie, and he loved it, too. I know it’s based on a book, but I haven’t read it yet.

  6. If we only paid attention to critics many movies, and shows, now considered classics, especially cult-classics, would have never made it out the gate. Nice going with the reciprocity. If she loves “Waitress”, then you’ll be happy even if it’s not serving your usual cup of theatrical tea.

  7. Sounds like you’ve made a loving choice. I find plays allow you to get so involved in the characters – and I try not to pay attention to critics. Have a wonderful time!

  8. It’s true…you just never know how it will turn out. We’ve had the same experiences.
    Please email me: BarbaraSut@aol.com re: bird’s nest!

  9. Kathy’s turn, but I hope it will surprise and please you, too!

  10. I haven’t heard of the movie or the play. Now you have me searching it out. Nice of you to be willing to see something that might not be your cup of tea, but that Kathy might like.

  11. Amy

    I can’t wait to hear what you think of your show. I’m hope you both will enjoy it!

Leave a comment