Summer Pland

8a3cc-11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

Every year around this time I start thinking of August and our annual NYC trip to celebrate our birthdays.  Mine is August 4 and Kathy’s is the 9th.  We always celebrate with a Wednesday matinee and evening show and a night at the Marriott Marquis on 46th street.  This year will be no different.

I start thinking now because I need to get theatre tickets.  I usually go through the Broadway site at Playbill.com.  I use the print-your-tickets-at-home option so I usually have my tickets before I turn off the computer.

So, what shows do we want to see this year.  I know it is impossible to get tickets for Hamilton so that is out.  One show that I want to see because I like the music is On Your Feet.  This show is also playing at the Marquis theatre.  After the show we don’t even need to leave the building to get to out room.

OK. Now, will I have any luck getting seats I want.  I admit that I like orchestra seats on the aisle.  Luckily in looking over the available seats for the day we will be there I see that there are two seats in Row P on the aisle.  These seats now belong to us.  I am now set for one show.

Tomorrow, show #2.

24 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

24 responses to “Summer Pland

  1. What a wonderful way to celebrate birthdays! Maybe you should try for Hamilton for next year now. 🙂

  2. Love hearing about your NYC plans. I saw Iowa friends on the front row of audience for Steven Colbert last night. Anticipation is at least HALF the fun!

  3. I can hardly wait to read tomorrow’s oat. It is so fun making summer plans.

  4. I wish there were a planner in my family. I’m the one who does it and I don’t really enjoy that part of traveling at all. May I rent you? Your August ritual sounds wonderful. You must have so many of them to look back on…. And this August will be very special for you and your wife 🙂

  5. rosecappelli

    Lovely tradition! Last year my daughter and I met my daughter-in-law in NYC for a show and we decided to make it a yearly tradition. Over the weekend we were talking about possibilities and of course Hamilton came up. Would love to see it – maybe next year. Will have to check out On Your Feet as a possibility.

  6. My son and grandson both have August birthdays, a special time for our family! I love that you have this tradition, and it sounds like anticipation is high. Lucky you that the early birthday gifts (favored seats) came through.

  7. Judy C.

    Wonderful tradition and celebration for both you & Kathy. Now you can sit back and anticipate the August trip. It’ll be here before you know it.

  8. Great! You’re going to be in my neck of the woods. Enjoy your shows, my best friend and I do the same thing for our joint birthday.

    • There really is no place like NYC. My aunt worked at Kings County Hospital in Brooklyn and we would visit her every summer. At least one show was always on the agenda.

  9. Sounds like it will be really fun!

  10. This sounds like an awesome birthday tradition. I have never been to NYC; but my son went with his Nona last year for his birthday. They saw Mama Mia. Jack loved it!

  11. You were efficient! I am looking forward to choice #2 tomorrow.

  12. Amy

    We love to visit NYC. We always seem to spend a ton of money though! Seeing a show is on my list of things to do there. We’ve stayed at the Marriott Marquis several times. It’s a great hotel. Enjoy your planning and enjoy your stay!

  13. I like traditions and very much like yours. Glad row P aisle seats now belong to the birthday crowd!

Leave a Reply

