Getting Ready For My Overnight

8a3cc-11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

2016 March Challenge Day 3

When you are getting ready for an overnight stay at the hospital there are things you do to get ready as well as things you pack to take with you.  I am debating as to what I should take with me.  Do I really need my razor?  I am sure I can go one day without shaving.  Will pack clean underwear.  I don’t want to come home commando (sorry Rose, after your post yesterday I just had to put that in).

What else do I need?  My phone.  I wonder if they would let me take a few pictures while they are performing the procedure.  It could make for an interesting blog post.  How about my Kindle?  I can get some reading done if I get bored being flat on my back and not being able to move for hours while the incision heals.

Now, what about getting myself ready?  Well, I guess just the things any normal person would do when getting ready for an overnight stay at a hospital.

First and foremost, I have an appointment to get my teeth cleaned this afternoon.  After all, I can’t go to the hospital with plaque on my teeth.  Bad enough that there is a blockage in my circulatory system without there being a build-up on my teeth as well.

Secondly, I have a haircut appointment this afternoon.  Got to look my best when having this procedure done.  Wearing a hair cap during the procedure will, I know, still lead to some serious bed head.  Oh well, at least there won’t be that much left of it once it is clipped.

Once these essentials are taken care of Kathy and I will head down to Reading.  I can hear Red Lobster, Olive Garden, and Applebees all calling me.  Not sure whose call I’ll answer.

Well, I am most likely not going to post anything tomorrow or Saturday.  I somehow don’t think the doctor would like me trying to type while s/he (I don’t even know who is doing the procedure) is threading a wire through my system.

Hope to be back on Sunday feeling much better.

22 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

22 responses to “Getting Ready For My Overnight

  1. Sounds like a great plan. You will be well groomed and ready to take on the procedure. Best Wishes and looking forward to a rousing report.

  2. Bob,
    So glad that you’ve planned your packing, your day, and your dinner! Be well. (Definitely take the kindle even if you don’t/can’t use it – Knowing you have something on deck to read is often reassuring!)
    🙂

    • I think I would be lost without my Kindle. It travels everywhere with me. Books are fine at home, but the Kindle is easier to manage elsewhere.

  3. rosecappelli

    I wish you well, Bob. And I’m glad you packed the underwear (don’t think I’ll live that one down any time soon!). Be well. Rest. And we’ll “see” you on Sunday.

  4. Looks like you’ve covered all the bases. You will be as ready as you can be and looking fine. I’m sure you will be the talk of the operating room. “Look how fine this man looks!” Best wishes and we’ll see you when you are up to sharing another unique slice of life.

    • I think the hardest part of this will be not being able to drive for a day. I am not used to being carted around. Oh well, I guess I’ll just enjoy the experience.

  5. It sounds as though you pack like I do. Do you just think these thoughts or do you talk to yourself as you pack. I tend to talk to myself.

    On a more serious note, best wishes and hope you are up and about and ready to share your hospital experience in your next post.

  6. That preparing and waiting is the hardest thing I think. I love that you’ve made us laugh with your preparations, the only attitude to have, right? Laughter is the best medicine! Best of wishes, will be thinking positive all through these next days!

  7. Your upbeat attitude brings a smile to my face! I loved the humor in this slice; and I will be glad to read your reflections when you are back home and on the mend!

  8. Judy C.

    Sounds like you’ve got this hospital thing all handled and all your bases covered. Praying for a quick and successful procedure. See ya on Sunday!

  9. Sounds like you have thought of all the avenues while in the hospital. I will keep you and Kathy in my thoughts and prayers as I know all of the Slicers will. Take time to heal. Peace and Love,

  10. Lisa

    Sounds like you are ready! Always best to over-prepared, I think. Definitely take the Kindle. Wishing you a speedy recovery!

  11. Yes, the Kindle needs to go…With the Great Physician watching over you and guiding the great physician at the hospital, we look for a good report soon. Blessings to Kathy, too, as she waits. Not an easy job.

  12. Well nobody can accuse you of being underprepared, that’s for sure.

    Thinking of you and wishing you a speedy recovery. Will be looking for blog updates once you’re up and at ’em again. Take care of yourself.

Leave a comment