Fun With Words Part 2

This week I was going to write about how the 6 – 10 inches of snow that was predicted here turned into 2 feet instead.  I was also going to write about it taking two days to shovel our our cars.  Then I thought people have probably had enough of stories and complaints about the weather so I chose to continue what I started last week.

In our local paper, John Usalis included 30 puns in his column.   They brought a smile to my face and I shared 10 of them last week.  This week I would like to share 10 more.  If you live in the East and are dealing with the snow I hope this makes you smile.  If you live where the weather is not an issue I hope these help brighten up your day.

  1.  The guy who fell onto an upholstery machine was fully re-covered.
  2. A grenade fell onto a kitchen floor in France, resulting in Linoleum Blownapart.
  3. You are stuck with your debt if you can’t budge it.
  4. Local Area Network in Australia:  The LAN down under.
  5. He broke into song because he couldn’t find the key.
  6. A calendar’s days are numbered.
  7. A lot of money is tainted: “Taint yours, and ‘taint mine.”
  8. A boiled egg is hard to beat.
  9. He had a photographic memory that was never developed.
  10. A plateau is a high form of flattery.

Next week I will post the last 10.  I am not good at word play.  How about you.  Any you would like to add to the list?

26 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

26 responses to “Fun With Words Part 2

  1. Love this fun with words. Can’t wait to share the link again. You will appreciate my number from yesterday . . . 140041 !!! Love FUN!

  2. I’m not good at word play, but do enjoy reading it.
    Hope you’ve dig out by now. The roads in and around Hershey aren’t as bad as I expected them to be. (Thankfully.)

  3. I so needed the chuckle today! I’ll be sharing these with my kids tonight at the dinner table!

  4. I love word play and puns always make me laugh…or groan.

  5. I might need to get out more because these literally had me laughing out loud. A boiled egg is hard to beat… ha ha ha ha ha ha

  6. Nice…the Napoleon one reminded me of one I made up… the movie
    “Napoleon Dynamite” I called “Bonaparte Blownapart”. I thought it was funny anyway!

  7. Words are so much fun! Thanks for sharing. I can’t wait to see next week’s! Jennifer Sniadecki

  8. As somebody stuck in snow as well, I greatly appreciated the puns! They are snow much fun! (Couldn’t resist.) I can’t wait to let some of these just slip into my everyday conversations.

  9. Judy C.

    Not good at word play, but I do enjoy reading them. I’m jealous of people who can come up with at the drop of a hat. Thanks for sharing.

  10. I love these, and now have to wait for more. That number ten about the plateau made my day! Thanks!

  11. Perhaps this is because I can’t sing to save my life, but this one has me laughing and laughing:He broke into song because he couldn’t find the key.
    I shared it with my husband, and now he’s laughing, too. So – both of us thank you for a moment of lightness is an otherwise long day :).

  12. Glad you and your husband are enjoying these.

  13. I envy the wordsmiths that are clever like this. My mind just freezes when I try to think in terms of a pun and they are so much fun. Keep them coming.

  14. Glad your snow hasn’t chased away your humor, even if you copy it from another source :-). What fun!

Leave a Reply

