Fun With Words

8a3cc-11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

As teachers we know the value and importance of words.  Words can make us smile.  Words can offer comfort.  Words can hurt.  Hopefully these words will bring a smile to your face and maybe even an occasional groan.  These are courtesy of john Usalis, a reporter in our local Sunday paper.  I have used his column for other posts and thought I would share these thoughts today and next week.

John listed 20 items that he dedicates to “lexophiles” (lovers of words).  Here are the first 10.  Enjoy.

  1.  A bicycle can’t stand alone; it is two tired.
  2. A will is a dead giveaway.
  3. Time flies like an arrow; fruit flies like a banana.
  4. A backward poet writes inverse.
  5. In a democracy it is your vote that counts; in feudalism, it is your Count that votes.
  6. A chicken crossing the road: Poultry in motion.
  7. If you don’t pay your exorcist, you can get repossessed.
  8. With her marriage, she got a new name and a dress.
  9. Show me a piano falling down a mine shaft and I’ll show you A-flat miner.
  10. When a clock is very hungry, it goes back four seconds.

Just in case these are too much to bear in one reading, I will save the next 10 for next week’s post.

14 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

14 responses to “Fun With Words

  1. Ha! What a unique mind. Thanks for sharing.

  2. Since I wrote about a word’s true meaning today, I love this, too. Puns are not easy for me to create, but I do love them dearly. Thanks for passing them on!

  3. Wow! These are hilarious! Love them so much! I would challenge folks in other content areas to come up with their own puns as well! Great fun during a testing week for sure!

  4. These are very amusing. My six year old daughter just made up this riddle: What kind of bug is never on time? A late-y bug.

    🙂

  5. Keep them coming… Your posts always leave me with a smile.

  6. I love it when people are creative with words. I wonder, do other languages have words that sound the same but are spelled differently and have different meanings? I’ll be back for the next installment next week. LOL!

  7. Oh, my goodness, I did need this tonight – such fun to read through, shake one’s head at, and laugh. Thank you!

Leave a comment