Springtime in December

8a3cc-11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

December 2015 went down as the warmest December for Pennsylvania  recorded.  I am fine with that.  It gave us a chance to do some yard work at Kathy’s mom’s house since we put the house on the market.  Anything to make the place more presentable helps.

Anyway, we were working in different parts of the yard when Kathy noticed something.  the forsythia bush in the corner of the yard had buds and blossoms on it.  She brought a few branches home and placed them in some water.  We watched as some of the buds opened.

This is a first.  We have never had forsythia bloom in December.  I looked at the bushes in our yard (forsythia, lilac, pussy willow) and although the buds are there, nothing is in bloom.

We did enjoy the warm December and the blooming forsythia, but now we are in more seasonal temperatures (20 -30 degrees).  Oh well, all good things come to an end.  I guess in a way I am glad because if that kind of weather continued there would have been another situation I would have had to face and let me tell you right here that there was no way I was going to get the lawn mower out in December.

29 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

29 responses to “Springtime in December

  1. OMG! I can’t even imagine needing to mow in December! But it was that warm. Today’s a stark contrast, isn’t it.

  2. What a delightful December treat – forsythia! I have several friends who did “mow” their lawns in December, but the biggest reason was to remove the leaves! The temperatures were a delight; however, I wonder if we will now have snow in May or as a colleague suggested – JUNE!

    I just saw a weather post where every state in the continental US BUT Florida will have freezing temperatures overnight. It seems that 2016 is going to include REAL winter!

  3. I had forsythia and flowering quince in the backyard of my old house. It’s nice to have a reminder of warm weather to come when it is so cold out.

  4. We were not that warm in Minnesota but I did wonder about needing to mow the first week of December as well. We are now covered in snow so no worries there. I love that you had a few spring blooms to enjoy in December.

  5. Terje

    In Estonia people were also sharing pics of blooms in December. Today we have proper winter – cold and snow. I like seasons when they are as they are supposed to be.

  6. When I went for my morning walks in December there were forsythia in bloom as well as pussy willow. I hope they come back in the spring. It was a strange thing to see the yellow and Christmas lights.

  7. Judy C.

    A little bit of spring in the middle of a dreary winter doesn’t hurt a bit. Somehow these plants seem to flourish even if they try to peak their heads out early.

  8. We had quite a bit of warm weather early in Dec., but then that snow came & it’s been on the ground most places since. These last two days are near 50 & it seems heavenly. That you had the forsythia blooming is amazing! Strange, strange weather!

  9. Ha ha ha – the image of you out there mowing your lawn in December is too much for me.

    Glad you enjoyed some unexpected beauty – now the real weather has arrived.

  10. rosecappelli

    Christmas Day was a bit unusual, wasn’t it? My husband wore a Hawaiian shirt to Christmas dinner instead of a sweater!

  11. Down in Kentucky, several folks had to mow! It’s been so warm here. This week, though, temps are crashing. The forsythia blooms look like a little glimpse of spring in December.

  12. We had forsythia in December in Indiana too! I had to go back around the block to make sure that is what I saw! Weird weather we are having…I hope this isn’t a sign of what is to come in February or March!

  13. In Indiana, I SHOULD mow, but I’m not gonna!

  14. That’s a lovely December surprise…but winter is on its way finally, and I am glad for it. For now 😉

Leave a Reply

