Advertising Characters

3741a-sol

SLO Tuesday

It is amazing, to me at least, how one simple comment made during a conversation makes you reminisce.  It seems that the older I get the more I think about the past.  Anyway, the other day I was having breakfast with my good friend the Cap’n.  He and I often have our morning meal together.  He can usually be found in my cupboard waiting to be taken out and poured into a bowl.

This particular morning we were discussing some of the characters that have been used to advertise cereals.  Now, the Cap’n has been around for quite a while but he is not the only one to have a long shelf life.  In fact, some of his friends sometimes sit right next to him in my cupboard.  Tony is a frequent guest.  I do think his cereal is pretty grrrrreat!

Right now, joining the Cap’n are three old friends of mine: snap, Crackly, and Pop.  Beside being good at breakfast, these guys also make some pretty tasty treats.  They also have been around for quite a while.

Other staples in our house have been Sugar Bear, Toucan Sam,  and Dig “Em Frog.  This kind of tells you about how healthy my breakfasts are.

There are are some who never made it into my house.  Count Chocula is one because I am not a big fan of chocolate cereal, although I do like chocolate in almost any other form.  Although the Trix Rabbit has made a occasional appearance, his cereal is a bit too sweet for me.

Here are a few more popular advertising characters.  Can yo identify what cereal they were associated with?

Lucky the Leprechaun – I still enjoy his cereal.

Frankenberry

Booberry

Sonny the Cuckoo Bird

Then there are those that may no longer exist.

Chip the Wolf (Cookie Crisp)

 Cornelius (Corny) Rooster (Corn Flakes)

Quisp

Honey Monster ( Sugar Puffs)

The list goes on and on.  In fact, there is even a web site (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_breakfast_cereal_advertising_characters) devoted to advertising characters.  The information given includes family history of the character as well as lots of background information on the character and the product,

So, which, if any, characters live on your shelves?

14 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

14 responses to “Advertising Characters

  1. I have been indulging myself lately in cereals my mother would rarely let us have, and The Cap’n has definitely made an appearance!

  2. My family is pretty loyal to Lucky the Leprechaun…but my husband has been making room lately for the Honey Nut Cheerios bee. I loved thinking about all the cereal characters hanging out together in the cupboard…

  3. Love this! I don’t think my Raisin Bran or GrapeNuts have any “characters” behind them. . . boring mornings at my house without any characters! Love this look at the “staples” in our life!

  4. Snap, Crackle and Pop and Tony the Tiger hang around pretty often along with Quik the Nestle bunny.When we were younger, I used to tell my brothers to watch out for Snap, Crackle, and Pop’s little hats in their bowls.

  5. This was so fun to read, because I know all of your friends…not a big fan of cereal because my mom made me drink the sweet milk…yuck…so they have not graced my shelves since we got married…now pancakes, coffee cakes and eggs…oh and going out have, not sure that I’ve gone any healthier from Tony the Tiger days. xo nanc

  6. Too funny that Trix is too sweet but Froot Loops are not. Love the Cap’n but only in the original flavor, not a fan of the peanut butter or crunch berries. Love your musings!

  7. The power of commercials. When I was young….I was impressionable. My little sister loved Coco Pebbles with Fred’s daughter on the box. This post made me smile and reminded me that I always left the sweet milk behind. Too sweet. It made me shiver!

  8. Ah yes — in college, we used to say that “The Captain was calling…” — and that meant that we had the munchies and it was time to bring out the Captain Crunch!

  9. Judy C.

    Love your cereal characters – mine are not nearly as entertaining, but I only have cereal a couple of times a week when hubby doesn’t fix eggs of some sort.

  10. Oh how I adore this post. Booberry! Sugar Bear! King Vitamin! So many sugar laden memories!

  11. So funny to think of all these characters that grace our lives and our cereal bowls. Sorry, but I’m a granola fan with yogurt, not one of these characters even visits. When the grand-girls are here, they have cinnamon toast! But I admire your continuing to have lots of guests for breakfast!

  12. How fun to visit the characters who breakfast with you! I have not thought much about them for MANY years. There is something charming that you have remained good friends!

  13. mrssurridge

    What a blast from the past. I could read the back of all those cereal boxes over and over as I munched on them. Now I’m an oatmeal gal, but you reminded me that a girl needs a little crunch in her breakfast every now and then.

  14. I loved Tony the Tiger and his Frosted Flakes as a kid, but was only allowed to eat it on vacations away from the house. As a result, we don’t have any character cereals on our shelves at home nowadays. Unless you count Bob from Bob’s Red Mill. 😉

Leave a comment