Quilt Show Part 2

3741a-sol

SOL 2015 March Challenge Day 17

The first thing we saw when we entered the exhibit hall was the vendors.  This year the show seemed to be overrun with booths selling all kinds of sewing machines and quilting machines.  People were walking around looking and buying. (You can click on any image to enlarge it…I hope.)

AQS 2015 - Lancaster 003

As far as the quilts go, I must say that this year they were exceptional.  There were very few , if any, traditional quilts.  To me, these were works of art not to be used on a bed.  I guess this kind of defeats the purpose of a quilt.

Anyway, the first quilt that caught my eye, and the eye of many, was just a wall hanging. Here is a picture of it looking from the left side.

AQS 2015 - Lancaster 004

Now, come around and look at it standing directly in front of it.

AQS 2015 - Lancaster 005

Move some more and look at it from the left side.

AQS 2015 - Lancaster 006Unbelievable!

One woman was inspired by the modernistic look of art work by Piet Mondrian.  This is the quilt she made.

AQS 2015 - Lancaster 010

It is always interesting when, as you are looking at a quilt, the quilter comes over to talk to you.  The quilter even offers to stand by her quilt so that you can get a picture of both.

AQS 2015 - Lancaster 011

Some quilters either are crazy or have way too much time on their hands.  Case in point.  Take a look at this simple pieced block.

AQS 2015 - Lancaster 024

This is known as a half-square triangle for apparent reasons.  Now, imagine that each of these squares measures to 1″.  Let’s say that you are inclined to make a quilt that measures 100″ x 90″.  To do that you would only need 8,488 squares.  Are you with me so far?  Now, take those squares, sew them into rows, and join the rows together.  Here is what you get.

AQS 2015 - Lancaster 025 (This one is worth clicking on to enlarge.)

I think that this is a good place to stop.  More tomorrow.

14 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

14 responses to “Quilt Show Part 2

  1. Holy cow! That’s a lot of tiny pieces! For sure, she has too much time on her hands. That beginning quilt is unreal that you can get three different portraits from one quilt. Amazing sights!

  2. I really can’t believe my eyes. I’ve never seen anything like those quilts! Definitely not the kind of quilts they sell at Target! Amazing!

  3. These are amazing. I clicked on each to get the enlarged view. The “Frame of Mind” is so cool. My mind is still trying to figure out how she sewed it. I understand the concept…but to be able to sew it to show three different pictures…that is talent. You chose some great quilts to share. I am glad you explained the one inch….and the quilt being 100″x90″….oh my. I can not imagine the hours of work that took to do…but the finished product is stunning. Can’t wait for tomorrow to see some more.

  4. Wow! I never knew …I’ve always enjoyed seeing quilts at craft shows but those are amazing! I mean the “Frame of Mind” quilt is art!! That is unbelievable that there are 3 portraits in one quilt. btw you did an great job explaining these quilts…. with only pictures we might not have appreciated their intricacies.

  5. Judy C.

    Totally amazing – the “Frame of Mind” quilt – I couldn’t comprehend how this could even be created. And all those tiny 1″ pieces – a challenge just to cut them all out and then, to sew them all together. Thanks for sharing the pics and your description. As I said, Amazing!

  6. Thank you for sharing these. So much inspiration!

  7. Terje

    You are right, this is art not something for a bed. Unbelievable what masterpieces some quilts are.

  8. rosecappelli

    Wow! These are fabulous! I had no idea quilts are so versatile. Looking forward to reading and seeing more. Thank you!

  9. Lisa

    So beautiful! I would love to go to a quilt show some day. I can’t imagine how much time she spent on the half-square triangles. WOW!

  10. I am a retired-quilter-turned-teacher and I can so appreciate this beautiful artwork. These are stunning! I would love to know how the quilter made the “portrait” quilt. Wow, just wow!

  11. Wow…I am blown away. The precision of this craft, and the ambition of it is remarkable.

  12. The portrait quilt and the quilt with more than 8,000 squares…it would be unbelievable without your pictures. It is almost beyond imagination to think of seeing them in person! Thanks again for sharing your adventures at the quilt show.

  13. What a visual delight! The creativity of expression is inspiring! I will add my WOW!

  14. Jaana

    The patience and talent that Kathy and these other quilters have is amazing! Visit a quilt show is now officially on my bucket list!

Leave a comment