Quilt Show Part 1

3741a-sol

SOL March Challenge Day 16

Last week, as I mentioned in a previous post, Kathy and I spent two days at the National AQS Quilt Show in Lancaster, PA.  Over the next several days I would like to share some of the things we saw and did while we were there.

The show was held at the Lancaster Marriott which is right in the heart of the city.  There is a parking garage near by, but I am cheap and preferred to park in a lot in the north part of the city.  For $1.00 a shuttle took us to the convention center.  We lucked out because a bus was there as we parked so we didn’t have to wait.

After a 7 minute trip we were there.

 AQS 2015 - Lancaster 001Not the best picture, but these are the doors leading into th building.

Although we were early, we still had to stand in line to get tickets.

AQS 2015 - Lancaster 002

Later on in the day the line looked like this.

AQS 2015 - Lancaster 037This was taken from the ticket booth looking back.  Here is another shot taker from the second floor.

AQS 2015 - Lancaster 038

I the last picture, you may see what seems to be a building.  It is.  The Marriott was built around a house, the Montgomery House.

AQS 2015 - Lancaster 033Here is the entrance.

AQS 2015 - Lancaster 034Here is a plaque about the house.

AQS 2015 - Lancaster 039From the third floor looking down.

AQS 2015 - Lancaster 041And looking up.

When we got our tickets and entered the hall, here is the first sight that greeted us.

AQS 2015 - Lancaster 003Let’s hear it for the vendors.

I think this is a good place to stop for today.  Don’t want the post to be too long plus I plan on milking this for the next several days.

It wouldn’t be fair,however, to not post at least one quilt just to whet your appetite.  This quilt was made by a friend of Kathy’s from the reading area.

AQS 2015 - Lancaster 007

More to come tomorrow.

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “Quilt Show Part 1

  1. That quilt is absolutely gorgeous!! The multiple perspectives of the pictures you took is enlightening as well. See —-you are living with your eyes wide open to all the views of the world around you.

  2. Judy C.

    A beautiful quilt, indeed! Thanks for whetting our appetite for more. Great way to carry us on your journey thru the quilt show. Looking forward to more.

  3. What a popular show! I don’t think a quilt show here would get that many people. Interesting how they built the hotel around the house. Kathy’s friend is incredibly talented. I think I wou have gone crazy piecing that design.

  4. So glad you put the picture of the plaque describing the house. How interesting that they built around it…but good that it was not destroyed. I am sure you are glad you got there early so as not to have to wait in that long line! Wow….lots of talented quilters there. I was looking forward to your posts about this…so milk it for as long as you can. The quilt picture is way to intricate for me to even think of attempting. I am always amazed at the art of quilting.

  5. I ‘m living through you on this one Bob. I don’t think I’ll be working on a cruise anytime soon.
    Bonnnie

  6. Oh, I did enjoy this tour…right up to that gorgeous quilt. How interesting that this hotel is built around the old house, which looks so elegant.

  7. And I was wondering when the quilt would come, but I must say it was worth the wait (tehe). How marvelous that your friend made that. It’s amazing what quilters are designing and creating. Lovely!

  8. Jaana

    Great idea to get there early. I guess you have experience on how things are organized. The first quilt photo is beautiful!!!

Leave a Reply

