The First Time

Check out the other slice of life stories at

http://twowritingteachers.wordpress.com.

I can’t believe this is the last day of the March Challenge.  I honestly didn’t think I would make it.  I really appreciate all of the help along the way.  This is the first time I have ever participated it something like this.  It got me thinking about how important and memorable first times are. I remember my first car, a 1969 gold Chevy Nova..a lemon from the start.  My first teaching job..remedial math and reading teacher for a Intermediate Unit.  What I bought with my first paycheck.. a stereo system.

There have been many other memorable firsts.  I would like to share one with you.  I hope it is not inappropriate for here.  I do not mean to offend anyone.

 

The First Time

Smooth sleek cavity

hungry, ready,

waiting for a tasty morsel.

 

Willing victim

strapped, immobilized,

lashed to its tongue

 

Frictionless entry.

I am in a place

previously unknown to me.

 

It awakens

pulsing zaps and strange noises

even earplugs can’t deaden.

 

Air stifles,

swear oozes through my pores,

heartbeat intensifies/

 

Halfway through, a voice.

“How are you doing?”

“Fine,” I pant.

 

The assaulting sound continues.

I make no movement

for I am confined.

 

Twenty minutes seem like hours.

How much longer?

I need release.

 

Silence, expectoration, relief.

I am free!

Cool air assaults my body.

 

I have survived

being devoured

by the MRI.

 

11 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

11 responses to “The First Time

  1. Wow! Very nicely written. I was not expecting the MRI, but it makes perfect sense. I enjoyed this post.

  2. Wow. That was a great ride. Loved it.

  3. I didn’t think I was ready to revisit this ride – but your writing made it memorable, and thank you for being part of this SOLSC!

  4. Never experienced on but now I know what to expect. Hope I don’t have to ever do this. 🙂
    Thanks for your kind words on my post, I enjoyed your wit and humor each day.

  5. Having gotten a few tattoos in my life I at first thought that was what you writing about. and then maybe a vibrator (in part due to your concern re it being inappropriate). Having had no idea what it would be like to get an MRI, I never would have guessed. Nice descriptive writing and thanks for the heads up- now I have some sense of it though I hope I don’t need to verify.

  6. I’ve had many an MRI. I think I might be the only human being who can fall asleep inside of them. (Odd, but true.)

  7. I had no idea what to expect when I clicked the link but your title got me! I’ve had an MRI and this is perfectly written! Nicely done!

  8. I had my first MRI this year…and you have described it perfectly…especially the voice asking “How are you doing?” Great read…as usual. Sorry the month is over….but enjoyed all of your posts. Hope to see you on Tuesdays. Hope Kathy makes some beautiful quilts using her new machine and that your Young Writer’s Academy is a great success. Give your kitties a pet from me. J

  9. Jaana

    I had absolutely no idea MRI was coming! That is what makes this writing fun! Thanks for your comments and visits!

  10. Hmm…I was thinking dentist drilling or pulling out a tooth! Either seemed uncomfortable. Congrats on completing your first SOL challenge! Quite an amazing month! Hope to see you on Tuesdays!

  11. Lee

    Definitely wouldn’t have guessed an MRI. Nicely written! Thanks for sharing your stories all month long. I have so enjoyed reading your slices!

Leave a comment