Thinking Ahead to Summer

Check out the other slice of life stories at

http://twowritingteachers.wordpress.com.

Got up early (for me anyway) today…7:00.  Kathy’s new quilting machine is to be delivered today.  More on that tomorrow.

I looked out the window and saw a light dusting of snow covering the ground.  I looked at the thermometer and it showed 20 degrees.  According to the weatherman last night we are to have strong winds.  It’s the end of March.  Where is that lamb?

I had to do something to get my mind off of the weather so I started thinking about August.  Kathy and I always pick a day around our birthdays, hers is August 9th and mine is August 4th, to plan an overnight trip to NYC.  We usually get tickets for a matinee show as well as an evening show.  Both of us really enjoy the musicals.

So it was off to Playbill.com to see what we wanted to see and what show had tickets available.  We like to get aisle seats simple it is easier to be one of the first to hit the restrooms during intermission…it’s an age thing.  Kathy usually lets me pick the shows we will see.  She trusts my judgement.  This can be a dangerous thing but so far I have never steered us wrong.  We even saw a few shows that I wanted to see but she would not have given a second thought.

I had a idea of what I wanted to see so I checked out the show site and ticket availability.  Success on the first try.  I admit that I am a sucker for Disney so my first stop was Aladdin.  They just happened to have two aisle orchestra seats for the 8:00 PM show on the day we plan to go.  I quickly grabbed them.  One show down and one to go.

Now I need a matinee show.  I decided on Bullets Over Broadway.  This show has been getting lots of hype so I figure it will be either really good or a bomb.  Again I lucked out.  Two aisle orchestra seats were available for the 2:00 matinee.  I snatched up those tickets as well.  

Theatre tickets in hand the next step is to make train reservations and hotel reservations.  We like traveling by Amtrak.  It is a three hour ride from Middletown by way of Philadelphia.  This way I don’t need to worry about driving or finding a place to park my car in the city.  We like staying at the Marriott Marquis on 46th street.  It’s right in the middle of the theatre district and within easy walking distance from any theatre.  These two reservations I don’g deed to make today.  As long as we now have our show tickets I can think about our upcoming trip whenever I need a pick-mu-up.  The truth is, August will be here before we even know it.

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “Thinking Ahead to Summer

  1. What a great birthday tradition. I also like aisle seats, in theaters and in planes. I don’t like to feel hemmed in by people. It is windy and rainy here, with no sight of the lamb on the West Coast. It’s probably vacationing somewhere warm.

  2. The free parking situation in Middletown makes it so easy to travel eastbound by Amtrak. I don’t take the train much anymore now that I have a little one in tow. I miss it though. I was an Amtrak devotee for years (college and beyond).

    Enjoy the birthday trip soon!

  3. Just last night Ray and I said we needed to visit NYC. It has been years. I used to go a couple times a year when my sister went to college nearby. So, reading your post today makes my desire even more. We even thought about taking Amtrack…and now I know a good place to stay. So, hopefully we will be able to plan a trip there soon…but our summer is already taken. (And I fear I will have surgery on my foot in late August…so another wait.) Ray and I also have the tradition of planning something between our birthdays…mine is the 9th of February and his is the 18th…so Valentine’s Day is right in the middle. Love your posts…and now you have given me a plan….and BTW…I am going to mention the Google Hangout at our yearly board meeting this summer. Thanks again!

  4. How easy was that to grab a few perfect seats! Having a trip to think about is always a winner when you get bogged down with life at home. I don’t have one to dream about right now, will need to work on that. I hope the installation of the new quilting machine is just as easy as changing a light. 🙂

  5. I’m thinking of having a meeting with a friend out there this summer and taking in a show. Great suggestions! Yes, August will be here before we know it. Bring it, heat!

  6. There you go – some quick thinking, a click here and another there, and you have your August adventure all planned out. Awesome! Bullets is supposed to be excellent, by the way…and August in New York will be quite different weatherwise by then, too!

  7. Judy C.

    Nothing wrong with dreaming of a vacation and getting the plans started. The way this winter has gone, we all need to escape, if only in our minds.

  8. That’s so much fun! I am always a little bit happier when I have tickets to an upcoming show sitting on my counter. It’s nice to have something to look forward to.

Leave a Reply

