There is a Light

11454297503_e27946e4ff_hI have mentioned before that I am ready for this winter to be over.  Spring is not far away.  Being that March starts this weekend has nothing to do with it.

It is amazing how often we look at something but don’t really see what is there.  Case in point.  Yesterday I walked out to the mailbox to get the daily bills.  As I passes the lilac bush I noticed green tips.  These were not just little hints of green, but fully developed read to burst leaves.  It was not just one branch, but the entire bush.  I know that this did not happen overnight, but I had not taken the time to notice them with all of the snow shoveling and complaining I was doing.

I then decided to raise my sight and look at the pussy willow next to it.  sure enough the fuzzy willows cover the bush and will be open in no time at all.  This always excites me because the willow was started from a cutting Kathy and I brought from our first house when we moved here 23 years ago.  

I didn’t look yet but I an sure that underneath the snow around our porch  the daffodils are pushing their way out of the ground.  I took a good look at out front yard and sure enough there are actually patches where the snow has completely disappeared.  Maybe I didn’t notice these things before because up until this point I didn’t need a reminder that this winter will eventually end.

Now I guess I need to take the lawn mower in for its yearly service so that I will be able to cut the grass when the time comes.  It will be here before I know it.

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “There is a Light

  1. The daffodils are starting to come up by my back door. This is a reassuring sign to me. We don’t really get snow, just rain. And I am more than ready for a little sunshine!

  2. Glad you are having some signs of spring. We still have the foot of snow on the ground from earlier snows….no signs of bare earth anywhere…but after reading your post…I know spring is near!
    Jackie http://familytrove.blogspot.com/

  3. I love the signs of spring… except the one about the lawnmower!

  4. Yes, the signs are there, but too often we miss the early signs. You are more observant than you give yourself credit for. As a child, pussy willows were like magical plants to me. I couldn’t believe there was really a plant that had fur.
    I sure hope these signs don’t get zapped by a rogue polar vortex.

  5. I love seeing the new buds and the ice melt. We will hopefully be writing more posts in the next few week around the signs. xo

  6. So lovely to come upon these hints of Spring!

  7. Jaana

    There is such hope in your post! I will remember this when the temps plummet this week once again. Thanks for spreading the message of spring!

  8. I wish I had signs of spring! I too am so ready for this long, harsh winter to be over. Expecting more this weekend. 😦

Leave a comment