Looking Back, Looking Ahead

I wasn’t sure where I wanted to go with this post. Do I look back at all of the things that happened in my life during 2022? There were many good things that occurred as well as some that are better left forgotten.

Should I focus on what 2023 might hold? I can’t see the future, but I can plan and hope.

No regrets.  What's past is done.

Abundant expectations.  The best is yet to come.

Some fights we've lost, but others won.

Troubles abound, but I'll still seek some fun.

New aches and pains at times took their toll.

Another year older with more wisdom gained.

I felt like I wanted to crawl into a hole.

I'll see flowers bloom where once it rained.


Some friends have passed and they'll surely be missed.

Continuing monthly lunches with friends.

Two great nephews added to our family list.

Something I hope will never end.

In the past I choose not to dwell.

Into the future I cannot see.

I survived the year, hopefully well.

If I can't change big things, at least I'll change me.

Wishing all of you a Happy and Healthy New Year!

9 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

9 responses to “Looking Back, Looking Ahead

  1. Trish

    The last line says it all. It’s definitely the hardest thing for me, to take a close look at myself and figure out if my response is the problem. And FUN matters, there is no doubt about that! (I’ll take a hearty bout of laughter any day!)

  2. Terje

    I kind of felt relief when reading you struggled with what to write, so I wasn’t the only one. I am glad you wrote this layered poem. There’s great power in choice of how to react, what to do and who to be.

  3. Great poem! New years are an interesting thing. It is a time to reflect, but I don’t usually think in terms of calendar years as much as I think in school years. Hopefully this one will be full of goodness.

  4. I love the format – back and forth, past and future – it captures this time of year perfectly.

Leave a comment