Expanding ZOOM Knowledge

SOLSC DAY 9

Like so many others, I am no stranger to Zoom. I have been a participant in many meetings. As president of the Dauphin County School Retirees I had to learn how to conduct meetings via Zoom so that our monthly board meetings could continue.

I have an account with Zoom. I can set up meetings, I can send the link to those who need to attend. I can start the meeting and admit those in the waiting room. We usually had 10 – 15 people attending.

I now need to become familiar with a few more features of Zoom. On March 26th our organization is running a virtual pre-retirement workshop for people in our county who are retiring this year of in the net 5 years.

Since I am the one with the account and have a little knowledge of how it works I have been asked to set up and run the technical aspect of the meeting. I could have said “No”, but of course I didn’t.

This will be a bit different because instead o 12 attendees there will be many more. I am up to 55 preregistered so far. We will have a guest speaker from PSERS aa well as one from HOPS (Health Options Programs). I need to be able to manage everybody…admit them as they sign on (no problem), spotlight our main speakers (something I have never done before).

I have been reading information about Zoom meetings on the internet. I have had a run-through meeting with out technical person at headquarters. I have a pretty good understanding of what I need to do and how to do. I am hoping I don’t mess up, but this is a first for me.

One good thing, though, since I am no longer president of the organization I don’t have to welcome, or introduce anyone. I don’t need to go over rules with those attending.

I just need to admit them and when our speakers are ready for their close-up turn the spotlight on them.

20 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

20 responses to “Expanding ZOOM Knowledge

  1. You can continue to learn through Zoom webinars as well. I have had to use Zoom for my last three Arcadia classes and sometimes for my local reading chapter. Your meeting sounds like the content will be important and useful!

  2. Trish

    You will be a rockstar, I’m sure. I am contemplating our first virtual conference with “poster sessions,” modeled after NCTE, break out rooms, and choice for participants inside of one featured speaker. I have to “up” my game, too. But stop learning and stop living—that’s a good motto. All will be well,

  3. Good luck! I have done more with technology than I ever dreamed I would…or could. But I come up against a wall pretty often. I can use tech, but I sure do not understand it.

  4. Good luck! I’m sure it will go great. And if there are any little hiccups, people are pretty understanding. It’s technology. It’s not always perfect. But I bet it will be fine!

  5. Well somebody has got to run the show so I’m impressed that you put yourself out there to be the one! There will be people in attendance who will reach out and help if you get stuck, we are all in this together, aren’t we. But it sounds like you know exactly what you need to learn to do and I’m sure you will be fine!

  6. Lainie Levin

    Oh, I feel this so deeply! For me, my “trial by fire” was in a classroom full of students, as I had to conduct all of my small-group instruction via Zoom last year. (The prior spring I couldn’t even take a group!)

    Hopefully, though, you’ll be in the “room” with folks who are steady and patient about the potential speed bumps. Good luck!

  7. Leigh Anne Eck

    Sounds like an important job! I am sure it will all go well!

  8. britt

    What an awesome opportunity to grow and continue learning. You will do exceedingly well. And obviously you’re trusted to do so!

  9. You’ve got the easy job now!

  10. Zoom meetings are so much easier when you’re not the host. You’ll be fine and will come away more knowledgeable in two subjects once it’s over.

Leave a comment