Crafting

8a3cc-11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

SOLSC Day 28

With all of this time on my hands I needed something to do, especially in the evenings when we don’t turn on the TV.  After doing things throughout the day I like to sit quietly at night and read or work on a project of some kind.

I enjoy working with plastic canvas.  The pieces are big and it is not delicate work.  I know Kathy’s quilt guild will be having a show in September of 2021.  I usually make something for them to sell at their quiltique.  This might be a good time to get started on that.

I found the pattern I wanted and the different colors of yarn that I will need.  The first thing I had to do was trace the patterns onto the canvas.  I will say that this is my least favorite part of the project.  However, I got it done.

pc1Now to cut them out.  This design isn’t too bad.  I have done some with more intricate cutting.

pc2

There, now I am ready to do some stitching.  Oh, by the way, can you tell what it will be when it’s finished?  If not, it might be easier to see if I arrange them in the shape they will take.

pc3

There, now I think you have a pretty good idea.  Following the design chart, it took about a week and a half to complete.  All pieces are filled in.

pc4

All that is left is to join them.

pc5

Mrs. Bunny is finished.   Well, almost.  When things are open again I need to get some ribbon so I can tie her bonnet under her chin.  I also need some lace trim for the bottom of her apron and around her bonnet.

Now, what should my next project be.  How about a Halloween witch?

pc7

No, I have a better idea.  Because their show will have a patriotic theme in 2021 I will go with a patriotic design.

pc6

18 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

18 responses to “Crafting

  1. Wow! Love the bunny but that flag is so glorious. I’ve never worked with plastic canvas. After my quilt, next up is a small embroidery project and then some more sewing . . . couldn’t find the gifts I wanted. I CAN MAKE them! MAYBE!

  2. Wow! I didn’t realize you were a crafter as well as a baker. These confined days at home is allowing us to learn even more about our fellow slicers.

  3. jumpofffindwings

    This is such a cool thing! The bunny is adorable—and I “saw” him right away. Okay, you’ve inspired me to take out the jigsaw puzzle. I’ve binged too much Homeland! Time to actually do something (and I am not, in any way, crafty.)

  4. I love this! I used to actually do this when I was a kid. My mom too. Seeing yours instantly brought back good memories 🙂 And it turned out amazingly!

  5. Lainie Levin

    What a sweet project. I absolutely love it!

  6. Bob! I feel like I’ve known you forever but this post surprised me! The bunny is so cute. I love it. I don’t think I’ve ever seen a plastic canvas project that large, or that nice.

    • What can I say, Lisa. I have many talents. I enjoy large projects because they make good door decorations. You should see my Santa. He is bigger than the bunny.

  7. The bunny is sweet, and I look forward to seeing the flag.

  8. Wow! Your craft project is fabulous. I have never seen this type of craftwork before. Your work is so bright and lively. It gives hope that Easter will be a joyous holiday despite all the virus news. We must think positive and you are doing this with your baking and crafts.

  9. Look at you! A man of many talents! The bunny is adorable! What a delight for Easter. I can’t wait to see the flag and eventually the witch.

Leave a comment