Albums

8a3cc-11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

A few days ago I decided to do some rearranging of things to get ready for the new doors we are getting.  In order to give the guys enough space to work I had to move things I haven’t moved in years – our record albums.  Yes, we still have our albums, vinyls to those who might not know what albums are.

Looking through them took me back.  I had a collection before we got married and Kathy had her own collection as well.  Weirdly enough we had only two or three duplicates when we combined our collection.

Even before we met we both enjoyed Broadway.  Here is one of my albums.

a3

Here are two of Kathy’s.

This is the only Broadway Show we duplicated probably we cause we saw this together before we were married.

a9

Since we met and dated during the disco era how could we not have at least one album the the reigning Disco Queen?

a10

In a few weeks we are going to see the Broadway show Summer which is based on the life of Donna Summer.

Our collection includes records of the popular artists of the day.

a6

a14

a17

a16

We even have this original.

a11

Of course there were the two male artists that women went crazy over.

a13

a12

Hard to believe this guy turned 83 yesterday.

a1

I have always been a fan of Sonny and Cher.

a5

I couldn’t get enough of Motown, especially these ladies.

a8

What about that Aussie favorite?

a21

We saw Melissa Manchester in concert twice.

a20

It seems that with Barbara you either love her can’t stand her.  I love her.

a19

A great duo tragically cut short too soon.

a18

Of course most singers had Christmas albums as well.  My collection also has several Christmas albums.

a2

Some albums were strictly instrumental.  Who can forger Leroy Anderson’s unique style.

a22

I don’t know why the 101 Strings were so popular, but we have some of their albums as well.

a23

Do you see the price on this one? $1.98.  Highway robbery.

I haven’t counted how many albums we have but there are quite a few.  This is just a small sample of what we have.

With the CDs it has been a long time since I have listened to any of our records.  We still have a turntable and good speakers.  Maybe it’s time to start listening and enjoying once again.

 

 

16 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

16 responses to “Albums

  1. I am amazed at how those album covers evoke such clear memories. Thanks for sharing this blast from the past!

  2. Alice Nine

    You have a serious collection! The jackets and of course music is such a memory lane. My daughter-in-law’s father has an incredible 45s collection. Here’s an article you might find interesting: https://www.ft.com/content/aa0240ac-0da1-11e8-bacb-2958fde95e5e

  3. These brought back a lot of memories for me, too. I heard somewhere that the quality of sound on an LP is still better than on a CD. I don’t know if that is true or not – I am not enough of an audiophile to test it out.

  4. So many memories. Thanks for sharing your collection, ours is long gone, but we still have memories.

  5. Wow! This post really took me back in time. We are a musical family. Our kids grew up on classic rock and my son works in the music business. A while back he took much of our collection of vinyl and they now are housed in his office where he still plays them. Music can tell so many stories!

  6. A wonderful trip down Memory Lane and I didn’t have to do any of the work involved in moving the albums! Those album covers are priceless. I urge you to start listening to them again asap. I’m sure the experience of putting the record on the player and dropping the needle will add to the richness of the experience. I hope your albums find a new life with you or someone you love.

  7. I loved this! It allowed me to reminisce too. I was hoping I’d see some Barry Manilow but perhaps you weren’t a fan?!

  8. It will be wonderful to listen to them again. I am not familiar with any of these singers 😦 but we enjoy listening to our old songs, we get them on the internet now. It is good. Thank you for sharing 🙂

Leave a comment