Of Orchids

8a3cc-11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

Last year we had some really nice warm days during the month of February.  One of those days we decided to take a trip to Longwood Gardens to see the Orchid Extravaganza.  We would like to go again this year if we get a nice day.

To hold us over, on Saturday we took a trip to Hershey Gardens because they were having a three day orchid fest.  No way does it compare to Longwood, but it was an interesting day anyway.

It has been a few years since I was at the gardens so I wasn’t aware that the location of the entrance had changed.  It worked out well because we went in right where the orchid display was.

I admit that I don’t know much if anything about flowers.  I was amazed at the different types and sizes of orchids.  I guess I have a mental image of what orchids look like so some of them surprised me.  Here are a few of the ones we saw.

I did like the coloring of this one.

o9

To me, this one looked like a face.

o8

Here’s a close up.

o7

Of course vendors had flowers for sale.

Around the perimeter of the room there were displays set up by the vendors and different orchid societies.

I am still hoping that we will get a chance to get back to Longwood Gardens while the orchid show is still there.  It runs through March.  Bit if we don’t, this trip to Hershey will do.

19 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

19 responses to “Of Orchids

  1. Gorgeous orchids! I am hoping that we will get to the Botanical Garden in St. Louis to see their orchid show this month. Lovely to look at, but I don’t have the green thumb for maintaining this beautiful flower.

  2. tbreitweiser

    So pretty!

  3. Thank you for sharing 🙂 they are beautiful and it seems as if they have personality of their own.

  4. Can’t see an orchid without thinking of one of my favorite all time literary characters: Nero Wolfe.

  5. Beautiful orchids!!!! My dad raised some indoors for a few years. Orchids always make me think of him.

  6. This is exactly what Dave and I would like to be doing right this minute. The pictures are definitely frameable. xo

  7. Judy C.

    Beautiful flowers and a good way to spend a cold day! Spring must be around the corner!

  8. I had hoped to go on Sunday, but the weather was so miserable (that I didn’t leave the house!). Thanks for bringing me to the Gardens from my couch!

Leave a comment