Queenstown

8a3cc-11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

We were now on our way from Christchurch to Queenstown – a bit of a bus ride as you can see by this map.

map_of_new-zealand

We would be spending the next several days here.  We checked into the Rydges Lakeside Resort.

I don’t think I have mentioned yet how beautiful New Zealand is.  To give you an example, here are views that greeted us at breakfast each morning.

q1

q6

q5

We had several things scheduled for our first full day in Queenstown.  First was another Skyline Gondola ride.  I really don’t like cable cars.

The view from the top was impressive, though.

After the gondola ride it was off to a wine tour and tasting at Gibbston Valley Wineries.

q16

Kathy posed next to the greeter at the winery.

q17

We left there and headed to Arrowtown, an historic gold mining town.  This stop really made Kathy’s day.  I won’t say why, but I am sure you can figure it out from this picture.

q19

I would not be telling the truth if I said some purchases weren’t made here.  Arrowtown is basically a  one street town.

From there we headed back to the hotel because we had dinner plans.

At 5:30 that evening we headed down to the dock, a five minute walk from the hotel and boarded the TSS Ernslaw which would take us to Walter Peak for a gourmet BBQ and sheep sheering show.  The Ernslaw

boat

is a steam powered boat, so for the entire trip, about 1 hour, this guy shoveled coal.

q24

The sun set while we were on the boat giving us some beautiful sights.

People just sat and enjoyed the trip.

q27

At Walter Peak our group was assigned a table for dinner.

q28

The meal was delicious.

After eating, we went outside to a large shed for the sheep shearing show.  We had someone explain to us how, when, and why the sheep were sheared.

q29

He then went about defleecing(?) a sheep.

After that it was a stop at the mandatory gift shop.  I did buy myself a pair of gloves because I didn’t take any with me and it was cold.

We then headed back to the ship for our trip back to the hotel and a well earned sleep.  Next week, Milford Sound.

13 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

13 responses to “Queenstown

  1. I’ll probably never get to New Zealand so I am really enjoying your virtual tour. My daughter, who visited NZ about 15 years ago when she spent a semester in Australia, found it to be one of the most beautiful places she had ever, and will ever see. Your pictures reinforce that idea. It’s nice to know that there are still some magical places left on earth. Glad you and Kathy got to be there and enjoy it for all of us.

  2. New Zealand is on my bucket list – your pictures show that it’s as beautiful a place as rumor has it. What an experience for you both!

  3. Thank you for continuing to take us along in your photographs, Bob. NZ is on my bucket list, but I have a feeling it’ll be YEARS ’till I get there.

  4. I am a knitter and would have loved the shop and the sheep shearing demo.

  5. Judy C.

    What a beautiful country! It’s on my bucket list. Thanks for sharing.

  6. So LOVE your photos from NZ. Thanks for taking us along on your trip! ❤

  7. Erika Haak

    The mountains are just gorgeous! I love not only the photos, but your great explanations!

Leave a comment