More Traditions

Yesterday Kathy and I went shopping for food for our New Year’s Eve dinner.  It’s pretty boring, but we get the same thing each year – lobster tails, shrimp, and crab salad.  I remember the first time we bought lobster tails we went to a sea food shop.  Never having cooked lobster, I wasn’t sure what was the best way to prepare it, so I asked.  The clerk told us to bake it.  It is juicer than boiling and much tastier.We tried it and she was right.  Now, this is the only way we cook lobster.

I split the shell and butterfly it. Place it on a foil lined baking sheet with sides.  Season it and put pats of butter on it.  Bake it at 375 degrees for about 20 mins. until the meat is nice and white.  Delicious.

This is also the one night of the year when we get out the good china instead of the everyday dishes. It makes for a really relaxing and enjoyable meal. 

At one time we did go out for dinner on New Year’s Eve, but we had a bad experience and decided that we would not do it again.  We had dinner reservations.  We got there a little early so we expected to wait a bit until our time and even a little longer.  Forty-five minutes later we were seated at a small table in the middle of a cramped dining room with the wait staff was walking all around us.  The dining room was so noisy we couldn’t carry on a conversation.  When we left we said, “No more.”  The next year we started eating lobster at home.

Now, we don’t have to worry about the weather, we can eat whenever we are hungry, and we can be comfortable in our own home.

Happy New Year to all!

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “More Traditions

  1. China on New Year’s Eve sounds lovely. Wonderfully festive! Enjoy!

  2. Sounds like you have a wonderful evening in store for you! I wish you the best in 2014!

  3. Jaana

    Happy lobster baking! I too, love the idea of good china on New Year’s Eve! Happy memories for a New Year!

  4. Yum lobster! I never knew you could bake it. Unfortunately my husband abhors any seafood, so no lobster for me. 😦 I think you have developed a great tradition and it sounds tasty too.

Leave a comment