One Little Word

Since I just started posting around July, I was not familiar with the One Little Word concept until I read some of the posts concerning them.  I really liked the idea, but I didn’t know if I could come up with a word to guide me through 2014.

I was amazed at how many people wrote that their word just came to them.  Well, the same thing happened to me.  Call it Divine Inspiration or whatever you will, but here is what happened.

Because of the predicted weather, Kathy and I went to church Saturday afternoon for Sunday’s obligation.  I wasn’t even thinking about Tuesday’s post or a guiding word.  Suddenly a word popped into my head.  “That’s it!” I thought.  I had my word.

My guiding force for the new year is acceptance.  Acceptance must begin with me.  I must accept the fact that I can no longer do some of the things I could when I was younger. 

Although mentally I don’t feel old, my body tells me otherwise.  The old body has aches and pains where years ago there weren’t any.  I look in the mirror and don’t recognize the person I see.  That is my dad looking back at me.

I must also accept the fact that I can’t do it all.  There is nothing wrong with saying “No”.  In fact, it is better than agreeing to do something and then never getting around to it or doing something half-heartedly just to get it done.

I must accept that I am not an authority on all things.  Many people know much more than I do.

I must accept that just because someone disagrees with me doesn’t mean that they are out to get me or are trying to show me up.  Besides, differences of opinion can lead to some interesting discussions provided things don’t get personal. 

There are many more things that I know I will need to accept as the year progresses.  Keeping my word in mind I know will help cope as well as grow as an individual.

 

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “One Little Word

  1. I love the OLW concept – isn’t it amazing that when you open your mind to it, one comes?! ACCEPTANCE is a wonderful word, and I look forward to reading about how it plays out in your life this year.

  2. It’s interesting to learn how words seem to appear and become the guiding word of the year. I’m still listening, but no word has talked to me yet.

  3. Love the word acceptance for the year! I also loved having a word guide me through 2013–last year I used “present” and it was SO grounding. This year it’s kindness. Not original, but that’s okay with me.

  4. Acceptance is really quite a powerful word. It allows you find new ways in your new/older self. Enjoy this and thanks for sharing. Every time I read a OLW post I feel I grow a little too.

  5. I love that! I’m so with you as well. Acceptance is perfect! Good luck with 2014 and the next day of our lives!
    Bonnie

  6. Isn’t it interesting how one little word can have just what we need? My last year’s word “spark” was so right. No word for this year. I will get inspiration and thoughts from other people and their journey with their word.

  7. I am still trying to come up with my one little word. It could be next December when I do. I like your word. It very meaningful.

Leave a Reply

