I Can’t Believe It

The letter came in Friday’s mail. I wasn’t expecting it. In fact, I even forgot I entered. But here it was, a letter letting me know that my name was picked as sweepstakes winner.

Let me go back about a month or so. Kathy and I were out shopping at Boscov’s. There was a sign in one of the departments advertising a sweepstakes. All you had to do was scan the QR code and register. I asked Kathy if she wanted me to sign up. She said, “Why not?” So, I did and then proceeded to forget about it until I got the letter.

I was told to contact the store manager to claim my prize. I tried, but she was not in her office. Since we were going there that afternoon, I decided to take the letter with me and see if I could claim the prize while we were there.

At the store I asked one of the salespeople if I could speak with the store manager explaining why I wanted to see her. I didn’t want him to think I had a problem with the store. He notified the manager and said she would meet me in the department. He also offered his congratulations.

So, what did I win? A pair of White Mountain shoes. Yes, they are women’s shoes. No. I can’t wear them. Yes, Kathy can. It turned out that the sweepstakes was good for any style of shoe White Mountain makes and the store carries. After looking at and trying on different styles, Kathy found a pair that she liked and that fit comfortably. So, she got a new pair of shoes for free.

As for me, I couldn’t believe I won. I am not a winner. Maybe no one else entered the sweepstakes and I won by default. Doesn’t matter. I won!

10 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

10 responses to “I Can’t Believe It

  1. Always a delight when an unexpected windfall arrives. Kathy’s lucky that you entered!

  2. Trish

    I, like you, am not a winner, but I did win a pair of earrings once—obviously I’ve never forgotten that! What a perk for shopping, a free pair of shoes. Tell Kathy to wear them in good health. Congratulations!

  3. Good for Kathy 🙂 Congratulations

  4. Kathy gets to benefit from your good luck in being a winner! Maybe you’re entering your very lucky winning time of life!

Leave a comment