This and That

Although it wasn’t a super busy week, several things were going one. Somehow we got to talking about Shreck, the Musical. I remembered seeing that there was going to be a performance at the Hershey Theater. However, I couldn’t remember when. We both enjoyed the show and I asked Kathy if she would like to see it again depending on when it was and if we didn’t miss it. She said sure so I decided to check it out when we got home. This was Friday.

Of course, when we got home I forgot all about it. I did remember Saturday morning when I got up so I went to the theatre’s site to see when it was going to be there or if we had missed. Good news. We hadn’t missed it. Bae news. This was the day it was there. I knew we couldn’t make the 1:00 show, but there was another at 6:30. I checked out the tickets and saw there were two seats in the orchestra section Row G. I grabbed them. So, spur of the moment we went to a show on Saturday.

Last week we had our DCPASR spring membership meeting/luncheon. We always have a guest speaker or some form of entertainment. This year we had a Civil War reenactor. It was interesting because he portrayed a Confererate general and spoke from his perspective of some of the battles. I found it interesting.

One of the things our retired teacher’s organization does is give out awards. On Monday night Kathy and I attended the Lower Dauphin Area School District Board Meeting to present the Lauretta Woodson Award to this year’s winners. Lauretta Woodson was a teacher from West Chester who joined PASR and rose through the ranks. Upon her death, she bequeathed a sizable amount of money to the organization to be used for the support of public education.

It was my honor to present the awards to a high school teacher and an elementary aide. I think that what makes this award so special is that even though our organization presents, those who receive it are chosen by the district so they are actually honoring two of their own.

So, I would say it has been a pretty good week.

10 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

10 responses to “This and That

  1. Terje

    You know how to appreciate the richness of life. The three smiles on the last photo spread a lot of happiness through the screen.

    • The winners new they were getting the award. What they didn’t know and surprised them is that along with the award, our chapter gave each one a $100.00 check. That brought out the smiles.

  2. A spur of the moment show… that’s my kind of Saturday!

  3. Trish

    Whenever you get to help an organization in education honor their own good people, it feels so awesome. (This summer at our retreat, I want to discuss doing more of that. I fear I am too loose with funds, but I love to give to deserving people!)

    I am so glad you got to see Shrek…and I bet listening to a Confederate general was interesting. I would appreciate that, too, I think. All-in-all, a great week of “this and that.”

  4. It is nice to recognize educators who do so much for their students. I also like making the presentation in front of the school board because it lets them know the great job their teachers are doing.

  5. It has been a good week 🙂 . Thank you for sharing . A very good photo.

  6. How delightful to be able to catch a show on the spur of the moment! So glad you had a good time. I always enjoy seeing the award recipients. What a wonderful way to encourage teachers at a time when teaching is really tough.

Leave a comment