The Promise of Spring

Last week when we were out, Kathy and I decided to stop at Lowe’s to walk around and see what was there. OK, if you want the truth we stopped there because we had some time on our hands. It was a bit too early to go for dinner. It is easy to get lost in Lowe’s walking the aisles just looking at things. It is one of my favorite stores.

However, what drew us there was the outdoor garden center. There was color everywhere. Yellow daffodils were flanked by purple pansies. Pink geraniums stood next to budding hyacinths. The green leaves of lilies not quite ready to bloom watching over delicate grape hyacinths. A sea of springtime beauties for our viewing pleasure.

Thank you, Carol Varsalona for seeing some potential poetry in one of my comments.

The Promise of Spring

Hidden away all winter,
Just biding their time.
They awaken in all of their splendor.
The delicacy of new life
And their bright springtime colors
Gladden my heart.

30 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

30 responses to “The Promise of Spring

  1. I loved looking at the pictures and thinking about your description of the spring beauties. It makes me want to grab Ralph and take a drive to Lowes, but he will be certain we will bring home more beauties to plant!

    • Lynne, It was hard not to pick up a few things, but we managed. A little too early to plant things outside. I know we will go back later in the season when I know the weather will cooperate and then we won’t leave empty handed.

  2. Anita Ferreri

    I saw the same inspiration at Home Depot! It made me smile and think about the promise that spring provides which you so wonderfully describe.

  3. Beautiful flowers! What a nice way to spend a day. We need to wait a few more weeks here in Chicago before planting our annual flowers.

  4. Beautiful poem. And BEAUTIFUL flowers!! I have so many blooming in my yard right now and I’m just loving them! Thank you for sharing the pictures!

  5. Trish

    Wake Up, World! Love the riotous bouquet both in the photos and the words you’ve sent our way today!

  6. Delicacy of new life… bright springtime colors… that makes me glad. too.

  7. And now I know what the pretty purple one that we planted earlier is. A grape hyacinth!

  8. Thank you for the photos! Is Spring late for you this year? I usually see more spring pictures in March than I did this year. I, of course, still have snow up past my knees and won’t see the crocuses or daffodils for weeks yet.

  9. Leigh Anne Eck

    Your poem gladdens my heart! We have an independently owned market that opened last week, and I love going there to look at the rows and rows of “spring’s promises”!

  10. Your description and poem make me eager to head to Lowe’s myself. It’s not time to plant at home yet (following my own rule of waiting til Mother’s Day) but one can dream and gather ideas. Thanks!

  11. Beautiful poem to describe your feelings.

  12. Those bright springtime colors gladden my heart, too … and so does use of the word “gladden.” And maybe some quilting ideas in those color mixes? I really like this poem!

  13. Bob, as I read your prose, I thought paragraph 2 was a prose poem. Then, you totally surprised me with your inspiring poem on spring. I am so glad that you wrote this. I will add it to my padlet as a contribution to the Springsations Gallery of Artistic Expressions. Thank you for taking one step forward.

  14. I enjoyed these beautiful spring photos. So wonderful to see COLOR after so many months of none!

Leave a comment