Change in Plans

I had great plans for the beginning of this week. As Education Grant chair for the Dauphin County School Retirees, I had made plans to attend Central Dauphin’s school board meeting to present this year’s grant winner with a check for $400.00 to be used for the purchase of Re-Write Boars for her first-grade classroom.

We had 9 applicants for our grant this year which was amazing since we only had one application last. When we revied all of the applications our whole committee agreed that this teacher was the most deserving of our grant.

I had spent a month emailing back and forth with the superintendent of the district asking if it would be possible to attend the February Board meeting to present the check. We like to make the presentation in front of the Board so that they know what great things their teachers are doing.

He was extremely helpful. He got me on the agenda for the meeting and I was all set to head down to Harrisburg Monday evening to make the presentation.

Then I watched the news and weather on Sunday evening. 1 – 3 inches of snow was predicted for Monday afternoon starting around 1:00 P.M. It was to start as a mix, turn over to snow, and then turn back to a mix. Heaviest snowfall was predicted for 7:00 P.M. The school board meeting begins at 7:00 P.M.

I decided that I would not chance traveling the interstate to attend the meeting. I emailed everyone to let them know my decision. Now, I need to reschedule a meeting with our winner so that she can use the grant to benefit her students. I will now be meeting her on Monday in her classroom. Her students will be on hand to see their teacher presented with the award.

After all of the warm weather we have had and the lack of snow, this storm threw a monkey wrench in my plans. It did, however, inspire me to write a sijo. (A sijo is a Korean form of poetry consisting of three lines with each line containing 14 – 16 syllables. The first line sets the theme. The second line elaborates on it. The third line adds a twist and conclusion.)

March, they say, comes in like a lion wild and ferocious.
I look out my window and see snow swirling in the blowing wind.
Typical weather for March, but March hasn't begun yet.

18 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

18 responses to “Change in Plans

  1. Oh, I love the sijo–and this part in particular, “like a lion wild and ferocious.” So much unpredictable weather this time of year. Many Detroit schools are releasing two hours early today so that students and staff can get home before our 6-12″ of snow starts!

  2. I just read about these beautiful sijo poems in Barb Edler’s SOLSC! I’m motivated to try my hand at these. Sorry about your inclement weather and change of plans – but what a lovely gain, to write poetry!

  3. Sijo . . . New learning.
    Your teacher will love the recognition in front of her students! What fun for you!

    • Presenting in front of a room full of students will be a new experience for me. I have always made these presentations at school board meetings. This should be fun.

  4. I loved your sijo! And even though you don’t get to present it in front of the board, how wonderful to get to present it in front of her students!

  5. Anita Ferreri

    LOVE your sijo! While the schoolboard recognition would have been great, the joy of those students’ faces is going to be memorable and powerful. Plus, their pride in their teacher will be palpable!

  6. I just learned a new form of poetry!
    Hate when weather changes our plans. Glad you ha had an alternate plan. Love that the students will be present! Just love it!

  7. Nice Sijo😊 I think that was a good decision.

  8. I will be in this spot next weekend. Traveling with four days of snow in the extended forecast. Not what I want. I have never heard of a sijo-I think I need to try that one out.

  9. So frustrating when the weather crashes out plans. But good when a poem comes out of it.

Leave a comment