Life’s Colors

“I Am the Light of the World” (John 8:12)

Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works and give glory to your Father who is in heaven. – Matthew 5:16

We are all called to be shining lights for others to follow. Are your lights bright and bold so that others can see them in the distance or are they soft and muted so that others won’t notice them until they are near you? What color is your light?

During these winter months trees are dormant, flowers are not in bloom, the air has a cold white chill. Maybe we tend to stay indoors more waiting for warmer weather to return. We may feel that our light doesn’t shine as brightly because we don’t come in contact with as many people. That isn’t true. We don’t stop stop being a beacon. Our light still shines brightly for our family to see.

I started thinking about my life and how I would describe it in terms of color. It got me to thinking about the musical Barnum. There is one song in the musical where P. T. Barnum explains to his wife Charity the colors that make up his life. His are bold bright colors. She responds by listing the colors of her life which are quiet and subdued.

Here is a link to that number:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TnZgjJIZ7aA.

It got me wondering what colors would describe me and the light I might project. After some consideration I decided that my life is comprised of earth tones. They might not be seen from afar, but spend some time with me and I hope they come through.

Although the colors may not be flashy and vibrant they represent security and stability, something I hope those around me can see.

Grays signify wisdom. I like to think that I have gained some wisdom in my old age..

Browns signify stability. I strive to be a person who can be counted on to do what he says he will do. I try to be there for others who need me.

Reds are associated with religious fervor. My faith is strong.

Orange combines passion and positivity. I do try to support others in their endeavors.

White evokes a sense of simplicity. For the most part, I am content with a simple life.

Would others paint me with the same colors with which I paint myself? I don’t know. I do know that this is how I see myself and this is the person I try to project to others. Maybe not the most vibrant and colorful, but definitely somebody dependable and down to earth.

At the end of the song sung by Barnum and Charity, Barnum hopes that the colors of his life will leave a shining light to lead the way for others to follow while Charity hopes that the colors of her life will shine a quiet light to bring her love home should he stray.

As I stated at the beginning, we are all asked to shine a light for others to follow. So, dear readers, what colors make up your life? Do you shine bold as P. T. Barnum? Are you a more quiet light like Charity Barnum? Are you a combination of both? What colors do you shine so that others may follow?

I look forward to reading about the colors of your life.

Please post the link to your blog in the comments.

21 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

21 responses to “Life’s Colors

  1. Bob, I truly enjoyed your prompt although I was not sure what pathway mine would take. I am halfway through mine but need to stop to work on my zoom keynote presentation for a reading association on Long Island tomorrow. I am tuning up my colors to shine brightly for this event. Your chosen colors are great matches for the guiding lights. I am always thrilled to read your take on topics. May your simple life be filled with continuous wisdom, stability, strong faith, passion, and possibility. -Carol
    I will alert everyone when my blog is posted.

  2. margaretsmn

    Thanks for this post and for hosting our gathering this month. You have me wondering about colors and what they mean. I’m realizing, though, that we need to have confident and contentment to let our lights shine.

  3. Margaret, you are right, we need to have confidence in ourselves or else our lights will waver and not guide.

  4. Linda Mitchell

    What a wonderful post! I am thinking of how color is part of my life for a post tomorrow. You’ve inspired me.

  5. Hi Robert: Thanks for this prompt and for your thoughts on the colors of your life. They give a me a good glimpse into your life and character. I’m interested to see all the posts on this topic. Here is my link: https://kceastlund.blogspot.com/2023/02/a-color-so-splendid.html
    Thanks again…

    • Karen, I do believe that the colors we identify with say a lot about us and I also believe that others are drawn to us because that color brings them in.

  6. I’m grateful for your prompt, Bob. I needed a push to do some intentional reflection about where I am in my faith journey. It has me looking at what is real: real grace, real pain, real love. I’m not sure I could attach an exact color to any of those, but I wasn’t surprised to land on yellow – the color of joy. Thank you, too, for the link to the Barnum song. I had forgotten it – and it’s beautiful.

    Here is the link to my post:
    https://patriciajfranz.com/spiritual-journey-color-and-light/

  7. Linda Mitchell

    I decided to click “publish” on my drafty draft…I may edit this a few thousand times today. LOL. Linda
    https://awordedgewiselindamitchell.blogspot.com/2023/02/sjt-colors-of-my-life.html

  8. Pingback: Spiritual Journey First Thursday: Colors of My Life | Reflections on the Teche

  9. Jone

    Thank you for hosting and sharing this prompt. It is something I am thinking on a lot this year.
    https://www.jonerushmacculloch.com/blog/spiritual-journey-thursday

  10. Pingback: The Spiritual Journey: Color & Light ⋆ Patricia J. Franz

  11. Happy to join the color brigade. I rounded up a bit of yellow from past writings hoping to spread light and joy.
    I loved reading your post, Bob, and learning about the meanings of the earthy colors of your life.
    Here’s my link:
    https://pleasuresfromthepage.blogspot.com/2023/02/spiritual-journey-thursday-color.html

  12. This a fascinating prompt, Bob! I love the weaving in of the musical with characterizations of the Barnums. I also love the symbolic meaning of the colors of your life. I see myself reflected in them, especially in appreciating wisdom, faith, duty, passion, positivity, and certainly simplicity, which seems to be the most elusive of these elements.

    My post concerns a color I wouldn’t readily have chosen for my life…but one that has certainly chosen me:

    Colors of my life: Spiritual Journey

    Thank you for this most creative lens!

Leave a comment