A Time to Bake

8a3cc-11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

SOLSC Day 26

It was bound to happen.  Last week I made some cookie bars for us.  When I am home for a stretch of time I like to bake.  Well, after enjoying two a night with a cup of coffee they are gone.  Because of that I knew it was time to do some more baking yesterday.  What to make.

I pulled out my nicely organized (believe that and I will tell you another one) book of recipes looking for one in particular.  I needed something with chocolate.  There it is.

cc1

I knew I had all of the ingredients because I bought them the last time I went to the store.  I got them, as well as the pot and pan I would need, and placed everything on the counter.

cc2

First thing I did was line the jelly roll pan with foil.  I like the Reynolds non-stick.  Using a pat of butter I greased the foil, an important step for this recipe.  When the pan was ready I lined it with a single layer of saltines, salt side down.    The salt is important so unsalted crackers o not work for this recipe.

cc3

Now it was time to make some toffee.  I put the two sticks of butter, yes – two sticks, in a pot to melt and had a packed cup of brown sugar waiting to be dumped in.  OK, this is not the healthiest of recipes but it sure is good.

cc4

Butter is melted so in goes the sugar.

cc6

Once the sugar was melted and boiling I let it boil for three minutes stirring it constantly.  At the end I had a pot of liquid toffee.

cc7

That nice gooey concoction got poured over the saltines.  Using an offset spatula I spread the toffee over the crackers making sure everyone was covered.  Of course I had to lick off the spatula before I washed it.

cc8

Now, into a 400 degree oven for seven minutes and then out to a cooling rack.  Seems like a waste to heat the oven to 400 degrees for just seven minutes of baking, but it is part of the recipe.

cc9

But I said I wanted some chocolate.  So while things were still piping hot I opened a 12 ounce bag of semi-sweet chocolate chips and poured it over the hot toffee.  Well, maybe it was a 12 ounce bag of chocolate minus a handful or two.  Kathy had some, too.

cc10

Of course the chocolate melted so using my spatula once again I spread the chocolate over everything.  Before you ask, yes, I did lick this off as well when I was finished.  After all, I couldn’t just wash all that good chocolate down the drain.

cc11

For the finishing touch I chopped a cup of almonds and sprinkled them over the hot chocolate pressing them down into the chocolate.

cc12

Now came the hard part, letting them cool. I let them sit on the counter for a bit until the pan cooled then I stuck the whole pan into the refrigerator.  After a few hours I took it out.

cc13

Doesn’t look much different from the last picture except now it is cold.

The last thing I had to do was break it into pieces, put it in a container, and enjoy.

cc14

Yum.  The saltiness of the crackers plus the sweetness of the toffee crowned with chocolate and nuts make one delicious snack.

cc5

20 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

20 responses to “A Time to Bake

  1. This looks like the beginning of a youtube baking channel for you. I remember that recipe. It’s probably smudge and worn, abandoned in my recipe box. Hey, maybe I should clean that recipe box out today or my baking cabinet or maybe I’ll bake something….

  2. I made these at Christmas a couple of years ago but no chocolate or almonds in my recipe! And the toffee mix was called “Crack” . . . love your variation and forgot how easy this was!

    • I also like the easiness of this recipe. Plus it makes a lot. That’s why I went for it. I do like the taste that the chocolate and almonds add to this recipe.

  3. I love how precise you are when explaining your recipe. Baking is so much fun. As you saw in my slice today, the cake I baked for my husband was oozing with chocolate sweetness and love. Baking is a great distractor during stay-at-home days. I tried this recipe several times but I use Matza – another great taste. I have not used almonds but that sounds good. Enjoy your treat.

  4. jumpofffindwings

    When I get done with this month-long no sugar thing, I’m making these! After all, there are almonds for the “healthy” qualification—tho’ I’m thinking about pecans?

  5. That’s an easy recipe…I might have to get some chocolate chips on my next foray into the grocery store.

  6. Oh, yum…these are going to be baked in kitchens across the country now!

  7. Lainie Levin

    You are a kindred spirit!

    Like you, I bear the compulsion to bake. It’s not a matter of if, but when I will need to go into my pantry, pull out some baking goods, and get working. Perhaps it’s the comfort of homemade goodies, but it’s also the process as well. It’s a creative endeavor that gives me a guaranteed product at the end – one that’s likely to be enjoyed and appreciated by those around me.

    Bake on!

    • The process, the comfort, the good smells in the kitchen…they all go together for me. I do have to watch, though. Baking and eating can be detrimental to my waistline.

      • Lainie Levin

        …which is why I like to bake for other people. I get my “fix,” and it makes some friends!

  8. Yum!! I’ve got some saltines that need to be used up soon. Maybe this will happen at my house tomorrow!

  9. richard hamera

    send some up please

  10. This is a semi-regular thing for you, but Oh I suspect a lot baking is going to be done while we’re all self-isolating.

    “After all, I couldn’t just wash all that good chocolate down the drain.” I have a friend who cannot stand the taste of chocolate (I know! I know!), yet she makes some of the best Christmas cookies every year.. In her house, that good chocolate is gong down the drain.

Leave a comment