Quilt Show #3

Here we are at the final post on the Lancaster/Lebanon Quilt Show. We had a great day looking at quilts, talking to people, meeting friends, and of course, eating lunch. Hope you enjoy these final few pictures and my commentary.

I do like bargello quilts. I am fascinated at how you can make strips all the same, unsew at different points, put them back together, and have a unique looking pattern. What do you see here? Do you see an open mouth with teeth ready to chomp on something? Do you see a curtain lifting and lowering to reveal what is behind it?

Because one bargello isn’t enough, here is a completely different arrangement creating a whole new pattern.

I don’t know why, but I like the pieced background for this flower.

This one is a bit busy, but I like it anyway.

How can you not like this mother and baby? It reminded me of our trip to Africa.

This just looked like a fun quilt to me. Maybe I am coffee deprived, but if I squint a certain way, I can see a cat face looking out behind the gnome at the bottom of the quilt.

This I just found pleasing and soothing. I don’t know if it is the colors or the symmetry of the pattern, but I find this one relaxing to look at.

I lie the bold colors of this one. They really stand out.

Finally, last week I mentioned that there was one quilt that made me scratch my head. This is that quilt. I appreciate the thought that went into it, the planning. the cutting of all those tine squares and rectangles, and the optical illusion effect of the finished piece. Still can’t figure out the why? Although, as an attention grabber it sure did grab my attention.

Thans for coming along with me to this quilt show. Won’t bore you with any more quilt posts until the next show. Not sure when that will be.

21 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

21 responses to “Quilt Show #3

  1. Stephanie

    Lord. The intricacy! The precision. The millions of tiny little fabric pieces. The vision. I could go on and on. This level of craft/artistry blows my mind. Thanks so much for sharing these quilts.

  2. When I saw the giraffes, I thought that would be my favorite… then I came to the tall flowers with the butterfly, bees… and the gnome hiding at the bottom… and that was it! Funny thing, I’m not really a fan of gnomes, but everything together in that quilt just works together. Thanks for sharing all the quilts!

    I guess I can appreciate all the work in the last one… but why? Did the quilter give a hint in a title?

  3. I love these quilt posts! People are so talented. I’ve never seen one like that last one. Pretty cool.

  4. Trish

    The bargello quilts are arresting! My favorite this time is the flower against that “pieced background.” Love that! Also, the last quilt despite its insane precision, as others have noted, would’ve made me crazy if I had been creating it. It’s like pixelation gone wild! (Not taking anything away from the expertise, just my eyes…)

    • I agree that the last quilt too lots of planning and precise cutting. It reminds me of the colorblind tests I get from my eye doctor. Can you see the shape or number.

  5. All amazing! But those first two are exquisite!

  6. Love the second one and the second to last one! That last one is rough on the eyes!

  7. They are all so beautiful. I too found that quilt soothing. The quilters must be feeling happy and satisfied with their creations. Thank you.

  8. Terje

    This time it was easy to choose my favourite – the one with giraffes! How can it be made with fabric, thread and needles stays a mystery to me.

  9. I was unfamiliar with bargello quilts so I just did a quick search and was really stunned by the different optical illusions quilters can create! As always, I love being able to see the quilting in your photos too. Just stunning work! I hope you had a good lunch as well.

  10. Bob, this set of quilts are so unique but I still like the simplicity and soothing color of the blue quilt with flowers. That would be a wonderful quilt for spring. Thanks for sharing the 3rd entry of the show.

  11. I agree with you, Carol. It is a soothing standout among all of the artsy quilts.

Leave a comment