Cairns – Day 1

It is time once again to hop an plane, leave Uluru, and head to Cairns.

map

As you can see from the map, we left the Outback and headed to the coast.  I must admit that I have always mispronounced the name.  I thoughts it was pronounced similar to Karens.  I was wrong. The correct pronunciation is “Cans”.  i never knew that.

Anyway, we spent two days here.  This post will just concentrate on Day 1 because I believe it is worth its own post.

We left out hotel at 8:00 A.M. and headed to the dock.  We boarded a boat similar to this one

DSC00291

and headed out to spend the entire day at the Great Barrier Reef.  All I can say is, “Oh my!”

It took an hour plus to reach the docking platform.  You can see from these pictures that it was a beautiful day with beautiful views.

Of course, we were not the only boat traveling out to the reef.  However, each boat had its own docking platform so we were not overcrowded .

Because we were spending the entire day at the reef, there were sever activities we could do and lunch was provided.  Our choices included: Semi Sub, Glass Bottom Boat, Snorkel, Heli Flight, and Helmet Dive.

Not being swimmers Kathy and I just did the Semi Sub and Glass Bottom Boat.  We did each one twice.  The first time I was busy snapping pictures so I missed a lot.  The second time I didn’t have my camera or phone out so that I was able to enjoy the beauty of the reef.

Here are some pictures form the Semi Sub.

Because of the tinted windows and the water itself the pictures aren’t the best.  The coral was beautiful, though.

After the sub ride we went on the Glass Bottom Boat.  This gave a different perspective of the reef because we were looking down at it instead of riding through it.

Lunch was served next.  There was a great variety of things to eat.  I decided to start with some prawns.  IO admit that I don’t usually want my food looking at me as I am eating it.

 

reef 29

I will say that they weren’t as tasty as I thought they would be.

Do one on our tour opted for the Heli Ride.  I didn’t think I wanted to be in a helicopter over the water.

reef 17

Many of our group did go snorkeling.

reef 32

Through a window in the platform we could watch the Helmet divers.

One diver was spelling out the wordy “Hi Mom” and snapping a picture of it to send home.  Couldn’t get a picture of this, though.

Around 4:00 we boarded the boat and headed back to port.  A storm was headed our way but we got back to port before it hit.

You can imagine that after being out on the water all day we all had a good night’s sleep.

Nest week, Cairns, Day 2.

12 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

12 responses to “Cairns – Day 1

  1. I know you said that the real thing was better than the pictures, but your pictures are spectacular. Was the semi sub scary at all?

  2. What fun! I have been away from the internet for a few weeks and so it was great fun this morning to read your post! Looks like you are really enjoying the trip!

  3. The reef is on the bucket list and you have just fed the urge to go. Wonderful photos!

  4. That is hardly a slice, that’s a like a pie of information! I loved your pictures, the various aquatic life, and the prawns! 🙂 What a wonderful day! Thank you for sharing it with us!

  5. Judy C.

    Absolutely awesome. Your pictures are beautiful, so I can only imagine what it’s like to really see it. Thanks for sharing your trip with us.

  6. How incredibly beautiful it all looks – and lucky you to see the reefs from so many angles, and up close, too!

Leave a Reply

