A Day in NY

8a3cc-11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

On Wednesday Kathy and I took a trip to NYC.  We had tickets for two shows, dinner reservations, and a room at the Marriott Marquis.  It was a great trip.

As we usually do, we took the 9:10 train from Middletown that got us to PEnn Station at 12:15.  this give us enough time to walk up to 46 St, where the Marquis is located, with a lunch stop at the Euorpan which is between 42nd and 43rd Streets.

After a spinach quiche and salad we headed to the Marquis to check in.  I have some Marriott points accumulated so I was planning to use them to upgrade rooms.  Our room wasn’t quite ready so we checked our bags and went to the theatre for our first show.  More about the room later.

Anyway, here is the matinee show we saw:

n1

The major reason we picked this show is because Kathy is a huge fan of Josh Groban, and since he is leaving the show soon, we wanted to see him.  I don’t know if you are familiar with this show or not, but it is based on a 20 page section of Tolstoy’s War and Peace.

It is billed as immersive theater so I had no idea what to expect.  Turns out it means the entire theatre is the stage.  Actors are everywhere, in front of us, beside us.  People had seats on the stage.  We were given rice filled plastic eggs to help accompany the one number.  It was really an experience and yes, I did enjoy the show.  Kathy was happy because she saw Josh.

After the show we stood outside the stage door, something I have never done, and Kathy collected autographs.  Here are some of the actors signing:

At one point a manager came out and told us that Josh was not feeling well so he would not be out to sign.  He also wouldn’t be playing the evening performance.  At this point I was glad we had matinee tickets and not evening tickets.  Kathy was happy, too.

By this time it was 5:25 and since we had dinner reservations for 5:30 we thought it best to head to the restaurant. Luckily, we only hat to walk from 46th Street to 47th Street.  We ate at an Italian restaurant: Trattoria TreColori.  The meal was delicious.  However, the best part of dinner was having our nephew, Jason, and his fiancee, Marissa, join us.  Always great to meet up with family.

After dinner it was time to head to our second show.  This is a little show you may have heard of:

n14

This show was unbelievable!  Whatever you may have heard about it is true.  If you can get tickets for it anywhere it is playing I highly recommend it.

Since the theatre is next door to the Marquis we didn’t have far to go to walk back to the hotel. I figured that at 11;00 our room should be ready.  It was.  As I said, I was using points to get an upgrade.  I didn’t expect what we got.  We were on the 45th floor, the highest in the building. We didn’t have just a room but a suite overlooking Broadway.  Here is our sitting room.

n15

Through a door to the left was the bedroom.

n16

To the back of the bedroom was  the dressing area and bathroom.

n17

And here is our view of Broadway from the 45th floor.

n18

All in all, it was a great trip.  Next week back to Australia.

17 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

17 responses to “A Day in NY

  1. I thought I miss Australia, but I was too enthralled with the New York adventure to think about it ’til you mentioned it at the end. How exciting!

  2. That is an amazing trip to NYC. I heard Josh Groban interviewed and he said he learned to play the accordion for the show.

  3. WOW!! Loved living the theater-going life through you!! I will see Hamilton….some day…for now, I enjoy the soundtrack. You really know how to spend time in NYC! You inspire.

  4. Incredible post! Thank you for sharing. What an incredible view. You all really lucked out with your room. I’ve been to NYC only twice… once pre-9/11 and one in 2005. It’s time to go again. In fact, I would love to take my 8th-grade students on a trip, since it seems that New York comes up often in my lessons. Thanks again.

    • New York really is a unique city. Although I would not want to live there I am drawn to it at least once a year. Always enjoy my time there.

      • I would love to go again! The teacher next door to my room has a son who just graduated in theater studies from NYU. Took her to Hamilton last year. Wow!!!

  5. Terje

    Enjoying life fully – theater, dinner, super hotel room – way to go!

  6. You do know how to pick the best shows to see! What an incredible trip that was, from the shows to the food, to the room. You are living the life!

  7. Wow, wow, wow! Everything about your day (from the shows to the view) was amazing. Thanks for sharing your adventure!

  8. Judy C.

    One day, two wonderful shows, good eats, family and an upgraded room to a suite. I’d say you’re living the life!

Leave a Reply

