Great Show- Sad News-Delicious News

8a3cc-11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

SOLSC Day 26

Yesterday I would call a mixed review kind of day because of some things that happened.  Here they are in no particular order.

The most enjoyable part of the day, at least for me, was that Kathy and I went to see The Sound of Music at the Hershey Theatre.  I can’t remember how many times I have seen Julie Andrews twirl around the mountain singing the title song.  However, I have never seen the stage production.  I knew that there were some changes in the song placements and I knew there were songs in the show that were not in the movie.

Would I be disappointed?  Would I not like the stage version?  No and No.  For two and a half hours I sat with my eyes glued to the stage and the performers.  The set designs were beautiful.  The cast was excellent and the voices unbelievable, especially the Reverend Mother.  When she sang “Climb Every Mountain” it was something to hear.   Showing my age, but they don’t write ’em like that anymore.

There was one sad part at the theatre, though.  Because we have had the same seats for 18 plus years we have gotten to know the four women who sit behind us.  They are season tickets holders as well.

One of the women had bypass surgery over the summer after I had mine so, when we went to a show in the Fall we compared notes.  We both had the surgery done at the same hospital but had different surgeons.  Her recovery was no going as well as mine had.

Well, yesterday we found out from her friends that she has had several strokes and seizures since we saw them in November.  She is not doing well.  I ask you to please keep Mary Ann in your thoughts.

On a happier note we went to Applebee’s for dinner after the show.  We like their 2 for $20 menu.  They added a new item to it: Grilled chicken, tomatoes, onions, and mozzarella on a bed of mashed potatoes with a balsamic drizzle over it.  Delicious.  I still have half for tonight’s dinner.

One thing happened that really ruined my day.  It took place before we left for the theatre.  I am not going to write about it here.  I want to wait until I see if I can get things straightened out on Monday before I do any ranting and raving.  Hopefully I can get things worked out.  I will let you know about it on Tuesday.

29 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

29 responses to “Great Show- Sad News-Delicious News

  1. Sounds like an emotional day. Love that you ended your post with a hook to keep me tuned in to tomorrow.

  2. It was a wonderful, sad, joyful, worrisome, singing and praying kind of day. I hope the rough patches work themselves out so you can continue to climb every mountain.

  3. Life is complicated, right? Your piece shows us how a single day can encompass real beauty and bliss, deep sadness, sensual pleasures, anger and foreboding. Stay calm and I trust you can find resolution to your problem. And of course we are now curious 🙂

  4. So sorry to hear about Mary Ann and will keep her in my thoughts and prayers. The Mother Superior is one of my favorite characters “When God closes a door, He opens a window.” Such a wise woman.

  5. A day full of anticipation and joy, but yet sadness and perhaps aggravation mixed in. I hope you are able to resolve the issue.

  6. Sounds like you had a roller coaster ride of emotions yesterday. A great reminder that we should never take our good health for granted. Hope your situation gets resolved. I am very curious.

  7. Sorry to hear about Mary Ann – sobering how different patients can respond so differently. Glad you enjoyed the show – there’s nothing quite like live theater!

  8. So many emotions – sorry to hear about your friend – my thoughts go out to her. Happy the show was great! This would be a great musical to see live.
    Now you have me hanging about your last upset – I am curious about your Tuesday post.

  9. Judy C.

    I love The Sound of Music and yes, I must agree, they don’t make them like that anymore! Sorry to her about Mary Ann – praying her health will improve. Food is always good and hoping that all will go well tomorrow. An up and down day for sure.

  10. What an emotional day!

    I wanted to take Isabelle to see “The Sound of Music” at the Hershey Theater, but I worried that the storyline would be too sophisticated for her. (Though I know she’d love the music.) Hoping it will come back this way again in a few years.

    • I was surprised at the number of children, Isabelle’s age, who were there. All were so well behaved. I am sure she would have liked the antics of the children as well.

  11. Even with the sad news and the bad beginning, the musical lifted your spirits tremendously. Sounds like a wonderful production – I love that show no matter what. Hope you get things straightened out.

  12. Your titled pulled me in as soon as I saw sad news. I’m sorry to hear about your friend and the other item you couldn’t write about today. Let’s hope for the best! I’m glad you enjoyed the show and the dinner. It sounds just like what you needed!

  13. Lisa C

    I loved the stage production of Sound of Music more than I thought I would. I think it is interesting to see these and remember the roots of the movie.

  14. I’m glad that the stage production was not a disappointment. I’m sorry to hear about your friend and will keep her in my thoughts.

  15. Glad you enjoyed the show (I knew you would!) So sorry to hear about your friend, I know it added a touch of sadness to the day.

    Looking forward to the “rest of the story.” (Are you related to Paul Harvey? You know how to use that like he did.)

  16. lindabaie

    It sounds like a mixed up day, but I’m happy that the musical was a success. Sorry for your friend, Bob. I will keep her in my thoughts. And best wishes to untangle that other thing. I’ll think about you, too!

Leave a Reply

