Lemon Bars

8a3cc-11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

SOLSC Day 22

Today is food pantry day.  That means getting up at 5:30 to get ready to be at the township building by 7:00 so that we can start filling bags.  It also means that yesterday I made lemon bars for the workers.  This is not something I have to do but something I enjoy doing because they like them.

You would think that after the many times I made these I wouldn’t need the recipe.  Not the case.  So, I got my recipe out to make sure I had all I needed.

bars 1

Next, I had to prepare the pan.  That involved lining the pan with foil and generously greasing the foil.

bars 2

Flour, powdered sugar, and butter become the crust.

bars 3

Crust in the pan, pan in the preheated oven and bake for 17 minutes.  While the crust is baking it is time to get the filling ingredients together.

bars 4

Mix them all together and pour the mixture over the hot crust.

Back into the oven.  After 25 minutes you have a pan of lemon bars.

After they are cooled, it is time to cut them.  Because the pan was foil lined and greased, it is easy to get them out of the pan and loosen the sides.  Sometimes the top cracks and sometimes it doesn’t.  This time it did, but that does not affect the taste.  It is optional to dust them with powdered sugar.  I don’t because I don’t think they need it.

bars 10

I like to cut the bars into approximately 1″ pieces because they are easier to pick up and just pop into the mouth.

bars 11

Off of the foil and onto a pan.

bars 12

Pan is full and ready to go.

bars 13

Hope the workers like them.

 

28 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

28 responses to “Lemon Bars

  1. Thanks for sharing. Sound yummy.

  2. They look good .. I want one for breakfast as I write this morning … More important, the fact that you volunteer at the pantry says a lot about your sense of community .. kudos to you
    Kevin

  3. Terje

    I like cooking slices when people share photos and recipes. They make my mouth water and inspire some experimentation. The main thing in this slice is your volunteer work.

  4. A good deed for people who are doing a good deed….they look delicious!

  5. Yummy! I think a lemon bar would be perfect to go with my coffee and reading this morning. What a nice treat for your fellow workers!

  6. cmargocs

    A yummy example of procedural text, with an underlying act of kindness. I hope this is shared with students!

  7. What I love most about this post is that you don’t have to make the lemon bars, but you do. Sharing some kindness is what it is all about. Oh, and the lemon bars look scrumptious! I bet your house smelled good too!

  8. I bet you are their favorite volunteer. Loved the photos for each step! Those are perfect bite sized portions. What a blessing you and Kathy are to the food pantry.

  9. Thanks for the tip about using foil! My lemon bars always stick. This post says so much between the lines – reinforcing your kind and caring ways.

  10. lindabaie

    I’ve told you that these are my son’s favorites, but I like a bite now & then too! Yum, and thanks for showing all! Those volunteers are lucky indeed!

  11. First, your slice has me craving a lemon bar. I remember when my mom would make them. They were delicious. I am like you, I need the recipe long after I’ve made something several times. I laughed at your admission.

  12. Food pantry work is something we have in common. I serve and clean up. I am sure your lemon bars were well received! I have happy memories of “Lucy’s Lemon Squares” from a Charlie Brown cookbook I had as a kid. My sister and I made them for every event imaginable!

  13. Alice Nine

    Yum! I love lemon bars!

  14. The best, and most delicious, part of these bars is that they come from your heart. For me the part I like the least is the confectioner’s sugar, so I’m really liking yours. Thanks for the recipe. 😀

  15. Pingback: Looks Like We Made It | Raivenne-lations

Leave a Reply

