Snow, Snow Go Away

8a3cc-11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

SOLSC – Day 15

I am writing this post Tuesday night, 7 P.M. so that I am all set to post tomorrow.  The snow started here around 9:00 last night, and as I write, it is still snowing and blowing.  Enough already!

We have about 16 inches and as I said it is still coming down so I know we will add to this. So, how has the scenery changed here since yesterday?  Allow me to show you.  As you look at the pictures bear in  mind that the first on was taken yesterday Monday) afternoon at 4:00 while the second was taken today (Tuesday) at 3:00 – a mere 23 hours later.

Here is the bird feeder just outside our dining area window.

I’m glad I filled the feeder yesterday.  These guys are,too.

44

Our mailbox is across the street.  As you can see from the second picture, we did not have mail delivery today.

 

Here’s a better look.

22

We have several bushes lining our roadway.

Of course, we park our cars in the driveway.

That spot of blue is Kathy’s car.

66

 

If you look closely at this street light, you can see icicles.

7

Now, I didn’t take a yardstick out with me when I went to shovel, so I just stuck the shovel in the snow.

99

Here is another shot with some of the snow removed.

111

As you can see, I did some fancy shoveling.  I just shoveled to the end of the driveway so that the paper can be delivered.  I know the roadway isn’t cleared, but I have wonderful neighbor who is plowing that.

222

I know that with the way it is blowing all of my work will be undone.  Wish there were some kids around who wanted to make a buck.  I truly don’t mind snow, but couldn’t we have had sixteen 1 inch snowfalls instead of one 16 inch snowfall?  I foresee a snow blower in our garage before next winter sets in.

To add a little end note to this, I went to get the paper off of the porch this morning and couldn’t open the storm door.  Seems the snow drifted and is half way up the door.  Well, at least the sun is shining today.

35 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

35 responses to “Snow, Snow Go Away

  1. Those before and after pictures tell us Stella’s story so well. We’re all dug out now, but the roads are still icy…I’m hoping that our delayed school opening gives the sun time to do what it needs to do.

  2. Ditto! The same here, neighbor. It’s so hard to believe. I have to admit though, I truly enjoyed be stuck at home yesterday and not having to run one single errand. Take it easy while shoveling today!

  3. Wow! You really got dumped on. As I was looking at the shoveling pictures I was thinking about your surgery. Although shoveling snow is a hard chore, I bet you are thankful to be able to do it this year.

    • I am extremely grateful that I can shovel this year. Had this happened last year I don’t know what we would have done. It is too much for Kathy to handle by herself.

  4. A snow like that is what it took for us to get a snow blower in our garage. Yikes! That’s a whole lot of snow! Take it easy as you try to relocate some of those flakes.

  5. Wow, that is a lot of snow. We had about a foot of snow and lots of ice here, but your shoveling demands are huge! I hope this is it!

  6. The pictures are crystal clear and I agree – more snows and less heavy dumping – more equal distribution would have been nice. For people. For critters. For plants!
    Take care!
    🙂

    • I always feel like when the weather person tells us 2 to 4 inches they are giving us a choice. I always opt for the lower number but somehow we seem to get the top…and then some.

  7. Judy C.

    Well, now you make me feel real bad about writing about our mere 2″ of snow that melted the next day! Be careful shoveling! Hopefully the sun will come out and the temps will warm up and spring will set in.

  8. We had a crappy snowblower that never worked right. Last year Allan bought a new one, and boy, was he glad he did after yesterday’s storm. I was thinking as I read your post that you probably shouldn’t be shoveling that much snow. Think of a snow blower as health insurance!

  9. This is a lot of snow for one snow fall. “Fancy shoveling” – an interesting category.

  10. The pictures are great to show how much snow you guys got in such a short time. It’s unbelievable almost.

    Hope you guys are staying warm and will be able to get your mail soon!

  11. lindabaie

    I’ve been there in the past, even remember all the neighbors getting out to shovel the street! But this time, nothing, no snow or rain. It’s over 70 already today & I need to do some tree watering! I loved seeing your pictures, though. Those mailboxes-wow!

  12. Erika Haak

    We just got a snow blower in 2015 and have to say it is totally worth it! My hubby cleared the driveway and the neighbor’s driveway too in no time! I will investigate the type and price and text you the info! We still used shovels when we had three inches earlier this winter, but for the big ones, especially with ice mixed in (like we had here near Philly) it was almost a necessity!

  13. These pictures are amazing. Thanks for sharing them. Hope it melts soon!

  14. Wow, what a snowfall!
    Those birds are lucky to have you.
    Love all the before and after pictures you shared.

  15. Hope you are taking care! We dodged that bullet – got maybe 2 inches. This winter has been horrible in so many places. Keep warm and safe.

  16. Loved the contrasting pictures. Hope you get some good advice about the snowblower. My sister got me an electric shovel, but I don’t think even it would be be a match for all that snow.

  17. As one who never sees snow, these pictures are AMAZING! The one that really gets me is the shot with the snow removed. I cannot even fathom being in that amount of snow. Thank you so very much for giving me a taste of winter weather (from my warm couch). And thank you for the pictures! I am truly amazed! Glad the sun was shining! 🙂

  18. The side-by-sides were perfect to appreciate the depth of the storm. Wow. We weren’t hit as hard as initially predicted, thank goodness!Sending warm thoughts for the cold shevelling.

Leave a Reply

