Longwood Gardens part 2

8a3cc-11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

SOLSC Day 8

It was so nice seeing Erika after all of these years.  We walked into the entrance and this is part of what we saw.

img_2001There were all kinds of orchids on display and for sale.  We would have to check them out before we left.

After a minor hitch not really worth mentioning we got into the grounds.  I would not have known where to begin, but luckily we had Erika as our own tour guide.  We walked up to the conservatory to see the displays.

On the way we passed the topiary garden.  Because of muddy and soggy conditions this is not open yet.  However, we were able to stand by the chain and look at it.  I was also able to get some pictures.

Here is a close up of one of the sculptures.  We couldn’t decide what it is.  A turkey?  A dinosaur?  What do you see?

img_2005

When we entered the conservatory this is the first thing that captured our attention.

img_2049

Of course we had to have our picture taken here.  Luckily there was a volunteer there who was taking pictures for everyone.  Here are me, Kathy, and Erika.

lg-2

We then started out tour of the conservatory.  First stop…the living wall.

img_2008_2

In case you are wondering where each of those doors lead, it is to an individual rest room.  There are more on the facing wall.

Before looking at the different rooms of flowers, we went to a ballroom where an organ was on automatic play. I understand that at times there is a person playing and the ballroom is set up for special dinners.  Erika and Rose, you are the experts so please feel free to correct any misinformation I post.

img_2013_2

In a room behind the ballroom we saw some of the pipes for the organ. As you can see, there are 10,000 pipes. All I can say is, “Oh my!”

img_2014

Here are the ones on display.  Notice the sized.  Some extremely large while others are very small.  Some are wood and some are metal.

Well, I think this is a good place to stop for today.  Tomorrow, the flowers and plants of Longwood. (Yes, I know I am dragging this out.)

25 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

25 responses to “Longwood Gardens part 2

  1. Oh my goodness! So beautiful.

    I’ve seen Lynne’s photos of Longwood Gardens many times. I’m hoping to get myself out there with the kids this spring or summer.

  2. Judy C.

    Again, just a little tease of the beautiful flowers. The pipe organ is amazing. The sound must be totally awesome. Looking forward to those flower pictures.

  3. Oh my – I think I would like to have a living wall in my house…also that floral archway. Thanks for sharing these beautiful pictures!

  4. Gosh, it’s all just so amazing! That garden is breathtaking. And those organ pipes! Wow! It’s hard for me to believe sometimes that this kind of beauty and wonder is everywhere. It’s amazing.

  5. I love Longwood Gardens. Your photos are amazing! Thanks for sharing them.

  6. I love the arch of pink flowers. It looks like you had brilliant sunshine the day of your visit so I’m sure that made your trip even more enjoyable.

  7. lindabaie

    That arch is amazing. Our weather is that warm today, too, feels like spring is here! As for the mystery topiary, could it be a camel sitting down? The organ is amazing. I’d love to hear it. What a marvelous day this must have been!

  8. All your senses are on high alert in these gardens. What a gorgeous place to visit! You were lucky to have a tour guide friend to bring you to the best parts. Looking forward to the next installment.

  9. So glad you enjoyed it, Bob. Your pictures are beautiful. Now that I am a volunteer there I like to show pictures to people and tell them it’s my office!

  10. Lisa C

    Looks like a nice visit! I’d love to hear the organ.

  11. Longwood is beautiful! Glad to see the topiary garden is open again. Their orchids are always so beautiful. You never want to leave.
    I know this may sound strange but they have the cleanest bathrooms by far. A wonderful place to spend a day.

  12. What a beautiful location. I really enjoyed seeing the living wall. I find that whole concept fascinating.

  13. I love all the pictures you included. You made me laugh a few times–I think it’s a dinosaur 🙂 And, I was wondering where those doors led to. Can’t wait to see and hear more.

  14. Your photos are wonderful! Those organ pipes – wow.

Leave a Reply

