Longwood Gardens – Part 1

8a3cc-11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

SOLSC – Day 7

In a previous post I mentioned that there would be nothing written about the annual quilt show at Lancaster during this month’s challenge due to the late date it is being held.  So, I had to find something to fill in the gap that those posts would fill.

As luck would have it, Longwood Gardens were having an Orchid Extravaganza.  Kathy and I went so the next few posts will be about our trip.

The trip was made extra special because we met up with a friend we hadn’t seen in 15(?) years.  Erika Haak  began her teaching career at Upper Dauphin and we were both on the sixth grade team.  When she married she moved to the Philly area and UDAMS lost a great teacher.

Anyway, Erika has a membership at Longwood Gardens so she planned to meet us there.  She was also able to get us in as her guests.  What a thoughtful gesture.

Since I had never been there I had no idea where it was or how to get there.  So, I checked out Google maps and printed out directions.  I looked them over and knew I could get to the turnpike and to the West Chester exit but I was totally lost after that.

Then I thought, wait, our new car comes with a GPS.  I have never use it so this might be a good time to give it a shot and see how it works.  Because I knew how to get to the turnpike I didn’t plug in the information immediately.  I waited until we got to Morgantown because there was a McDonald’s there and I knew I would need a pit stop at that point.

After stopping I plugged the address into the GPS and hit drive or whatever the prompt was.  I immediately saw that the GPS and Google Maps were taking me two different ways.  A dilemma.  Which one should I follow?  I decided, what the heck.  I want to try the GPS so I will go with that.

I listened as the robotic female voice guide me through turns.  At one point I either didn’t turn or I took a wrong turn because all of a sudden the voice told me that it was recalculating my route.  I don’t know what kinds of narrow back roads I was on but I must say the homes there were gorgeous.  I followed the directions the voice gave and made it to Longwood Gardens without really any problem.  The GPS does work.

When we got there Erika was waiting for us at the entrance.  Tomorrow – inside the Gardens. orchid

28 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

28 responses to “Longwood Gardens – Part 1

  1. missmoyer

    Longwood is about an hour from my house in Harleysville.
    It’s a special place.
    If you live closer to Philly you must check out Chanticleer Gardens in the spring and summer. My husband enjoys it more because as he says it’s more “casual.”

  2. I love a good orchid show! St. Louis is having it right now, but I don’t know if I will get to it this year. So glad that the car GPS worked out for you.

  3. Sometimes not following that voices directions takes you to more interesting places. Looking forward to seeing & hearing about the orchids. My dad used to raise them.

  4. lindabaie

    I have such an old car, no GPS, but my rentals at the beach have given me a chance to try it out! Glad you made it, and this one picture was very tantalizing, FYI!

  5. Judy C.

    Beautiful orchid to give us a hint of what to expect tomorrow. The car GPS does give us good directions, but sometimes I think the tone of her voice changes when we don’t turn or try to go our own way. Glad you made it and got to see some beautiful homes on the way.

  6. I’ve given up on my car’s GPS and prefer using my phone, although the backup monitor and the GPS were selling points initially. Can’t wait to see your pictures since I spend a lot of time at Longwood.

  7. Ha… I take my GPS fore granted now. Funny, I didn’t even bother with it for a very long time…now… it’s just another essential tool. Can’t wait to see what you found in the gardens.
    Bonnie

  8. I could not live without GPS, which is a sad, sad thing. I can’t wait to see the inside of this place and more lovely orchids.

  9. Alice Nine

    How fun! Both the drive with GPS and the orchid show. I will be looking forward to your next post.

  10. Good story…and one lovely photo to tantalize…

  11. I swear sometimes the GPS is rolling its nonexistent eyes and getting pissed when the driver insists on taking a different route. By the third “recalculating” I could but hear a “what are you, stupid?” huff. But they are excellent tools and have spared many a potential “Are we lost?” arguments.

    Kudos to catching up to an old friend. Always a good thing.

  12. Yes, the GPS gets very rattled when you don’t follow her directions. It sounds like it was worth aggravating her though. Nothing like a little side adventure. I’m anxious to see what tomorrow’s pictures bring!

  13. Oh funny – GPS is always interesting- glad you made and so wish I was visiting the gardens with you. I would love to see this and the Chanticleers gardens. Looking forward to your next post!

  14. I’m glad you found your way there and that you saw some beautiful houses on your route. How exciting to meet up with an old friend and colleague after so long. I’m looking forward to hearing more about your reunion.

  15. Can’t wait to hear about the Gardens and see more orchids. We have had good and bad experiences with GPS. IN our new car, the experiences have definitely been better though. Glad you made it okay

Leave a Reply

