An Anniversary, of Sorts

8a3cc-11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

SOLSC Day 6

I can’t let this day pass without taking time to remember.  This is an anniversary for me, but not one that I will go out and make a big deal about it.  I am not going to get together with friends over a meal to share laughs and stories.  I am just going to sit quietly for a few minutes in thankful silence.

Although it is not the date, that would be tomorrow, it is the day.  Exactly one year ago today at 6:30 A.M. I was being prepped for the OR in the Reading Hospital.  I had showered with a strong antibacterial body wash.  My chest, arms, and legs were shaved,  I was cocooned in blankets and wheeled to the operating room.  It was the day of my triple bypass.

It was an eight hour procedure so this day was basically lost to me.I vaguely remember waking up briefly following the surgery to find Kathy and my sister-in-law, Carol, at by bedside.  If I said anything I didn’t make much sense.  Tubes were sticking out of my arm, chest, and neck. I fell back to sleep. The road to recovery had begun.

Breathing treatments and exercises were a routine part of my days in the hospital.  Taking supervised walks in the hallway were exhausting at the beginning.  Bland tasteless food was the norm. I had to learn the correct way to get out of bed and how to dress myself. I even had to learn how to get into a car.

When I came home I couldn’t drive.  It was still winter so I couldn’t help Kathy shovel snow when it fell.  Luckily there wasn’t much last year.  For the entire summer I hired someone to mow the lawn because I was not allowed to push anything or lift anything weighing more than five pounds.

Yes, one year ago today there was much I could not do.  Now, I am pretty much cleared for anything.

So, today I will take a few extra moments to sit quietly, reflect on the past year, and thank God for my health.  His guidance led me to Dr. Hafiz who through testing discovered I had a problem.  He gave Dr. Gluhovsky steady hands to perform the surgery.  Yes, I truly believe without God’s intervention I would not be posting today.

29 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

29 responses to “An Anniversary, of Sorts

  1. I believe you are right about God’s providence. Congratulations on the excellent recovery you have made!

  2. An anniversary truly to celebrate! And God definitely surrounds us with angels to get us through the worst.

  3. Judy C.

    Here’s to celebrating your successful surgery, recovery and good health! God is indeed not only Good, by GREAT!

  4. lindabaie

    The time seems to go so quickly! I’m grateful for your doctor, too, and for your fine year past of celebrating and getting stronger each day! Happy Anniversary!

  5. Erika Haak

    We are also happy your are still here with us! Keep taking good care of yourself!

  6. A beautifully written account of what happened last year. I remember you writing about your recovery. I also remember how you commented every day on my blog, and being grateful for that as a new slicer. I’m so glad that you’re cleared and healthy.

  7. I was just thinking of you as I made my way to my cardiology appointment this morning. So thankful that you received the proper care and made a great recovery. There is much to be thankful for in life!

  8. vendija723

    It will never cease to amaze me that they can cut open someone’s chest and work on their actual heart. My mom had valve replacement surgery when I was 16, and my dad had a bypass later in life, and I remember that long, slow recovery process. I’m glad you are doing so well!

  9. Yes, take that moment to reflect, to be thankful to be alive, and then go forth and to live in honor of it. It is a noteworthy anniversary.

  10. Today is indeed an anniversary to celebrate, regardless of how you choose to do so. I am very thankful for the ways God protected and healed you and brought you to today. He is so very good. That is worth celebrating every day.

  11. This is a wonderful post, Bob. What a difference a year makes! Here’s to your health and a happy life.

  12. Leigh Anne

    Happy anniversary – what a celebration! God is good!

  13. Those were worrisome days, for you, Kathy, and all the faithful readers you have. I’m so glad your doctor was at the top of his game when he discovered your problem. I guess that means you will be back pushing the lawn mower this summer?

  14. Happy anniversary, Bob – and here’s to a truly amazing recovery.

Leave a Reply

