Getting Ready

8a3cc-11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

SOLSC Day 5

It is hard to believe that in little over a month we will be off on our next trip.  We have had our itinerary for a while, but last week we received out flight information.  I knew we were leaving from Harrisburg but wasn’t sure what the flight plans were even though I had an inkling.

Now it is confirmed.  From Harrisburg we fly to Philadelphia.  From there we travel to Los Angeles.  In LA we board a plane and head to Australia. Although I am excited about going I am still a bit nervous.  I still don’t like flying and flying over that much water doesn’t do much to ease my anxiety.

The good thing is that it is a night flight so hopefully I will be able to sleep.  If not, I have books that I know I can get lost in.

One day soon I need to take a trip to our local AAA to exchange some money.  Our tour guide suggested stuffing envelopes with money for the bus drivers and local tour guides just as a way of making things easier.  I like this idea so that is what I am planning to do.  I also want to make sure I have a bit of local currency for whatever may pop up.

Since we are visiting three places I will need Australian money, New Zealand money, and Fiji currency as well.

The one thing I don’t need to do to get ready for this trip is to buy new clothes.  Much of what I took to Africa last year I can use on this trip as well.  We have been told that all of the places we are staying have laundry service so I shouldn’t have to pack as much as I did last year.  So what if I wear the same clothes several times as long as they get washed in between wearings?  beside, that will leave more room in the suitcase for souvenirs.

Coming home we leave Fiji to head back to LA.  From there it is on to Chicago and then back to Harrisburg.  I am glad we are returning on a Friday so that I can crash over the weekend.  What am I talking about crashing just for the weekend?  Let’s make that the entire following week.

37 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

37 responses to “Getting Ready

  1. Oh, I want to go! I love heading to another country–and haven’t for almost 13 years. Have a wonderful adventure! And check out this slicer who is an Aussie herself: https://thebeachpapers.wordpress.com

  2. I love following your adventures and I’m so happy that you leave through Philadelphia. I’d hate for a snafu to snag you up in Chicago on your way to Australia!

    You and Kathy are quite the world travelers and so experienced at prepping and planning! ENJOY!

  3. Can’t wait to hear about this trip, Bob! Safe travels!

  4. Sounds amazing — can’t wait to hear all about it!

  5. Australia is on my bucket list. Be safe!

  6. You are to be commended for embarking such a challenging, amazing journey. Of course you are nervous; who wouldn’t be! But you sound like seasoned travelers, and the reason you are doing this is because you know how much pleasure awaits you in many forms…memories you will treasure. So onward, and upward, and enjoy the journey. Can’t wait to hear your stories and see your pictures.

  7. Judy C.

    Oh, I’m so jealous. Austrailia and New Zealand are places that I want to journey to. Some day… This will be a wonderful trip for you and Kathy. Can’t wait to hear all about your adventure and see some great pictures. Safe travels in a month.

  8. Traveling to New Zealand and Australia is definitely on my bucket list. You will have an amazing trip I am sure. Take lots of pix so you can share!

  9. What a great trip you will have! Our AAA office doesn’t have foreign currency, however our main bank has some and they can order ones they don’t carry from the corporate bank. Of course, if you have an ATM card, you can visit those in the foreign lands and get cash that way too. The flight is long, but so worth it. You will need a week to catch up on jet lag when you return. That was the hardest transition for me to make.

    • Our AAA will exchange currency with no added fee since we are members. The bank does charge a small service fee. It’s a matter of driving one mile to the bank or 15 to AAA.

  10. This sounds like an amazing trip – with a lot of flying!! Can’t wait to hear all about it after you recover. 🙂

  11. I am looking forward to hearing about your adventures once you get back. You know the old rule: bring half the clothes and twice the money. Seems like have that under control.

  12. oh great – another trip to follow! Have a great time!

  13. lindabaie

    Another trip of a lifetime, Bob. You are lucky to go, and I hope it’s fabulous. I’ve heard that saying Adrienne mentioned, too, “half the clothes & twice the money”-perfect!

  14. I traveled to Australia during the summer of 2009 and had an amazing trip. Have a great time!

  15. Australia, wow! This is so exciting! The best part is I’ll get to take a virtual field trip because I’m sure you’ll have plenty to blog about when you return. Who knows, maybe you’ll even blog while you’re traveling!

  16. room311news

    Traveling is so much fun! This sounds like an exciting one!! I have been to Europe, and we are planning Nova Scotia but Australia sounds much more exciting!

  17. How exciting! Australia! New Zealand! Fiji! Glad we will get to hear about it all!

  18. I am envious, I love travel and you have places still on my list to be conquered, for I’ve never been to Harrisburg, PA. I kid! I kid! (I mean I haven’t been to Harrisburg, PA, but you know what I mean!) Sounds like you’ll need a vacation to rest up after your vacation. Looking forward to reading all about it.

    • I know what you mean about not being to Harrisburg, Raivenne. Actually, about two weeks after we get back we will be in NYC. Have tickets for Great Comet and Hamilton.

      • Oh “The Great Comet” was amazing! The singing! The dancing! The audience participation! I was lucky enough to get seating near the main stage in front of the piano. I’m still working on Hamilton tix. You’ll likely see it before I will.

  19. THat’s a shame Bob, that you have issues with flying, given that you love adventures that demand a lot of time up in the air, but so glad you are at it, no matter what! You know I’m with you… travel bug continues to bite me often. Ecuador in late June with a group of teachers and kids. I take the video equipment. Adventures for both of us !

Leave a Reply

