Elephants, Big Cats, and Victoria Falls

8a3cc-11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

Today was going to be an exciting day.  It would start with an elephant ride and walking the big cats in the morning.  In the afternoon we were scheduled for a helicopter ride over Victoria Falls.

I got up rarin”to go.  Oh no!  All of a sudden my stomach started acting up.  I couldn’t leave the room.  I knew I would not be able to go on the elephant ride or walk the cats. Bummer.  Hopefully if I took some Imodium and rested I would be OK for the helicopter ride.  I was disappointed.  However, since this was this only time I had problems on the whole trip I guess I can’t complain too loudly.

Anyway, here are some pictures of what I missed.  Here is our niece Melisa (in the middle) and her friend Vanessa riding an elephant.  I understand that it was about a half hour ride and maybe not the most comfortable.

elephant-ride

Being a Leo myself, this is the one thing I regret not having the opportunity to do.  I am glad that Melisa shared this picture with me.

big-cat

And another one’

big-cat-2

Luckily, after taking a pill and staying close to a bathroom all morning I was in better shape by the afternoon.  So, it is off to take a helicopter ride over Victoria Falls.  I have never been in a helicopter before so I wasn’t sure how nervous I would be.

img_1719

Victoria Falls lies at the southern end of the Zambezi River.  The river and the falls separates Zambia (where we were) and Zimbabwe.  We flew over the Zimbabwe part but couldn’t land since we had no visas for that country.

Victoria Falls is known as  Mosi-oa-Tunya (The Smoke That Thunders). After seeing and hearing it I can understand why. David Livingstone was the missionary to first discover and name the falls in  16 November, 1855.  It is considered to be one of the natural wonders of the world.

While it is neither the highest nor the widest waterfall in the world, Victoria Falls is classified as the largest, based on its combined width of 1,708 metres (5,604 ft)and height of 108 metres (354 ft), resulting in the world’s largest sheet of falling water. Victoria Falls is roughly twice the height of North America’s Niagara Falls and well over twice the width of its Horseshoe Falls. (Wikipedia).

Here are some pictures of the river and falls taken from the helicopter.  Words can’t begin to describe the experience.

The falls is only at 20%capacity since the rainy season has not yet begun.  The guide told us that March and April are the time to see it in all of its glory.  At 20 % it was still impressive to me.

Although it was exciting to see the falls from the air, the next day we took a trip to Livingstone Island for an up close and personal view.  To say I was awestruck would be an understatement.

Because of the rising mist and sunshine, there is an ever present rainbow, sometimes even a double one if you looked at the right angle.  The guide led us to the edge.

We then walked over to the main part of the falls.  You can see the rainbow behind us.

Kathy chose not to walk to the edge because she was unsure of her footing.  I was not going to miss the opportunity.

img_1768-copy

When I sat down the edge was no more that a foot away from me.

I am so glad I did not miss this opportunity.

Next week on to Choma.

15 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

15 responses to “Elephants, Big Cats, and Victoria Falls

  1. WOW!!!!! x 1000. Too bad you missed your Leo opportunity (bad tummy to misbehave). But oh, what amazing excursions to Victoria Falls. The double rainbow behind you, and the overhead shot of the falls were breath taking. And to think it was inly at 20%!!!
    A trip to Africa is high on my list, but you have pushed it up a couple of notices.

  2. I have to repeat what Raiveene said above, “WOO!!!!x1000!” It such a bummer that you were not feeling well for the elephant ride and cat walk. I can’t even believe how close you can get to the animals. And, Victoria Falls, I’ve never seen anything like it. It’s absolutely breath taking!

  3. Spectacular!!!!!!! I’m glad the Imodium let you resume the adventure. Once, in Guatemala, I had what I refer to as “an out of body bowel experience” Like you, I was only laid low temporarily. I love the ever present rainbow!

  4. Those waterfall pictures are stunning – from every angle, with and without the rainbows. What an adventure!

  5. lindabaie

    Oh my goodness, the trip just keeps getting more exciting. I’m sorry you missed the morning, but so happy you made it to the helicopter ride and Victoria Falls. I am speechless about the pictures. They are fabulous! Keep telling us all about the trip!

  6. Those rainbows are incredible! Thanks for sharing your incredible adventure, Bob.

  7. Beautiful, beautiful rainbows! Glad you recovered enough to go see them! What a fabulous trip you had.

  8. Erika Haak

    LOVED all of these photos–you really did have an amazing experience!

Leave a Reply

