This is the Week

8a3cc-11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

There is a lot happening for us this week.  The first big thing for me is that yesterday I officially became covered by Medicare.  Yes, on Thursday I will turn 65.  I now will need to let my doctors know of my new coverage as well as my pharmacy since my new drug plan kicked in yesterday as well.

Because this is my birthday week I have received several freebies from different places where I am registered.  I have to take advantage of them. So, yesterday Kathy and I went to Ruby Tuesday for dinner.  I got a free burger.  Not the healthiest, but it was free.

Because we were both a bit full, even though I only ate half of my burger and brought the rest home, I couldn’t do dessert.  So we went to Michael’s and walked around for half an hour. Now I was ready for dessert.  On to Dairy Queen for a free chocolate covered cherry blizzard.   It hit the spot.

As with every year for our birthdays, Kathy’s is August 9, we usually celebrate with a trip to NYC.  Tomorrow we are off to the Big Apple to see Waitress and On Your Feet.  We will meet our nephew and his fiancee for lunch before the matinee.

On our way home on Thursday we will stop in Hershey at Houlihan’s for dinner.  I get a free meal there as well and it is a nice way to end our New York trip.

Friday we go crazy.  It is the day we take the cats to the “spa” for their extended stay   Saturday we head back to New York to hop a plane to Africa.  We are basically packed for that trip so we just need to add medications and personal grooming items.

I can’t believe it is here already.  I must admit that I am excited as well as a bit nervous.  So, this will be my last post for about 3 weeks.  I am not taking my laptop with me.  Pictures and stories to be posted when we return.

28 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

28 responses to “This is the Week

  1. Happy birthday!!! Have a wonderful trip to New York and to Africa. I can hardly wait to read your posts once you return. I hope you are bringing a journal so you can record things to write about when you get back.

  2. What a week! I don’t think you can pack any more excitement into the week. What a fabulous trip you will have! Can’t wait for your return so I can live vicariously through you. Happy Birthday Bob!

  3. Judy C.

    Happy, happy birthday to you & Kathy! What an exciting time – NYC, shows, food, family and then the BIG trip! Can’t wait to hear all about your adventure. Safe travels, my friend.

  4. Such an exciting time and Happy Birthday to you! I wish you safe and happy travels and I will anxiously await for the blog posts when you return from Africa!

  5. Happy Birthday and bon voyage! We expect to read about your adventures when you return, Bob – safe travels.

  6. Happy Birthday to you and to Kathy, and enjoy the trip to NYC, then off to Africa. Will send you good travel wishes these next weeks, & look forward to reading all about it! “The World is a book, and those who do not travel read only a page.” St. Augustine

  7. Happy Birthday to both of you! Have a great trip! We will be here waiting for pictures and stories!

  8. margaretsmn

    What part of Africa are you traveling to? I returned just a few weeks ago from Tanzania. I’d go back in a second. Wonderful! I wrote quite a few blog posts when I got back. So much to process. Safe travels! Jambo!

    • Hi Margaret. I did actually read all of your posts about your trip It helped get me into a mindset for our trip. We will be spending most of our time in Zambia. Our nephew’s M-I-L is going back to visit family and we were invited to go as guests. I do know that we will be visiting Victoria Falls as well as going on a safari.

  9. Happy birthday to you and Kathy. On your feet was fabulous. Enjoy every minute of your trip. I can’t wait to see your pictures.

  10. Wow! NYC AND Africa! What a great birthday! Have fun.

  11. Wow. You and your wife are certainly living a full and rich life. Happy Birthday to both of you. 65 is a milestone. (I’m about to turn 70!) I know you are a good documentarian from reading your posts, so Iook forward to hearing what you’ll have to say about your visit to Zambia. Africa is a big place. We tend to think it’s all the same, but I’m sure each region is distinctive in its own way. Of course you are nervous, but things will fall into place and it will all happen so quickly. So savor every moment! A bientot!

  12. Happy early birthday!!! I am excited to see pictures and read detailed accounts of your upcoming trip. I hope you enjoy every minute!

  13. What a week! Happy birthday and Bon voyage! Can’t wait to hear about your trip!

  14. Safe adventures to you both! Can’t wait to read stories when you return!

  15. Happy Birthday! happy Travels!

Leave a Reply

