Upcoming Trip

8a3cc-11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

Thus was not the post I was planning on writing today, but when I received a email early this morning I changed my topic.  As I have already mentioned in previous post, an by now you might be sick of hearing about it, Kathy and I are going to Africa in a few weeks.

Since we are not the ones planning the trip, I have no idea what is in store for us.  The only thing I know for certain is that at some point we will be visiting Victoria Falls.  I hear it is beautiful and am looking forward to seeing it.

Other than that I had no idea what was going on.  That is, until this morning.  My phone pinged at 6:00 this morning.  I checked to see who the message was from, but not recognizing the name I put the phone back and rested a while longer.  When I finally did check my messages I realized that it was a partial itinerary of our trip.  To say I was excited would be an understatement.

There was some basic information about the weather and what kinds of clothes to pack.  I can now weed out the things I thought I might need but won’t.  Then came the information.

We will be spending 2 nights on a safari in South Africa at Shepherd’s Tree Lodge, Pilanesberg Game Reserve.  I was hoping that we would be taking a safari and now it looks like we are.   This has me really excited.

I read a bit more and found out that out mode of transportation is going to be elephant.  Huh?  Elephant?  Really?  Aren’t they knida big?  How does one get on an elephant let alone ride one?  I haven’t ridden any animal since I rode a pony at a kid’s park.  I won’t mention ow long ago that was.  Oh well.  I hope my elephant is friendly.  It also turns out that Kathy will celebrate her 70th birthday while we are on safari.  Should be interesting.

I better make sure I have new memory cards for my camera and lots of batteries.  Hopefully I will get some good pictures.

Oh well, this is now one more thing to think about and be excited about during the next few weeks.  I am sure they will pass quickly.

24 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

24 responses to “Upcoming Trip

  1. You are going to have enough stories to last you on Tuesdays until the end of the year. I can’t wait to read about the elephant ride.

  2. Elephant!?!?! That sounds so wonderful! I am an armchair traveler (because I don’t like to fly); so I am excited about seeing all your pictures and reading detailed reports about your trip.

  3. I imagine an elephant ride has never been on your bucket list, but this must top most of it. How grand to move atop those wonderful animals! I’m anticipating more and more exciting news each time you write. And yes, don’t forget all those camera extras!

  4. This is so exciting! I can’t wait to read about your trip when you return. Yes, riding an elephant does sound intimidating but they probably have the most docile elephants for the safari! You’ll be leaving for the trip before you know it!

  5. I rode on elephants twice when I lived in India – I still remember the sensation. You are going to have such fun, Bob! Glad you are preparing for lots of pictures.

  6. Bob,
    So much fun. My sister and family rode on elephants last summer in India. Margaret just got home from Africa and has started blogging about her trip. I will look up her blog for you, too!
    FUN!

  7. How exciting and exotic! I hope you don’t get elephant-sized saddle sores!

  8. You will have the best time!! I can’t wait to hear all about it and see the pictures.

  9. Judy C.

    It’s always exciting to get the updates and an actual itinerary. Looking forward to hearing all about your experiences, especially your elephant ride.

  10. Everything sounds so exciting! I have been able to visit many places in North America (and Central), South America, Europe and Asia. I would love the chance to see Africa and Australia. I think reading will be enough when it comes to Antarctica.

  11. This sounds like an amazing trip!
    My friend, Rachel, relocated to South Africa for work last year. Here’s the link to her blog. Perhaps you’ll enjoy looking at it before you leave.
    https://thewanderingshutterbug.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

