4Th of July

8a3cc-11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

On Sunday, Kathy and I went to my brother’s for a Fourth of July picnic.  As with other times, his house was filled with family, friends, and good food.

To get things started, snacks wee brought out while the grill was being fired up.

Lenny's 2 Fresh fruit, crab dip, cheese, mini tacos all served to whet the appetite.

Small groups formed while people were still arriving.

Lenny's 1  Here Kathy sits with my brother’s mother-in-law and Foster, the woman who is planning our Africa trip.

As the food was cooking we moved to tables set up outside.

 

My brother, Len (blue shirt) and his wife, Carol, are always the perfect hosts.

Lenny's 4 My nephews, Jason (holding the dog) and Leonard (with the beard) were able to make it home for the festivities.  Always great seeing them.  Jason is holding the dog because Beck is hyper.  He loves people and is a jumper.  At the moment I still can’t risk him jumping up on me.

Lenny's 7  Leonard’s wife, Mimi, is joining us on out Africa trip.  Leonard, unfortunately, can’t go because he is doing a rotation in a Chicago hospital.  He will be there for the month of August.

Lenny's 8  Jason and his girl friend Marissa will be joining us as well as Marissa’s parents.

I really don’t have any pictures of the food.  I guess I was too busy eating.  I sometimes find it hard to believe that where once I use to be the kid at gatherings like this but now I am an adult watching the next generation.

It is always nice when we can take time out of our busy schedules to all come together to spend time with each other.  That is really the celebration.

26 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

26 responses to “4Th of July

  1. Love seeing all your pictures and it looks like a good time. I just read someone talking about growing older who wrote about surprise, as in “How did I get here?” All of a sudden, no longer the younger one, but watching from a new perspective. There are so many memories as a kid too, aren’t there? Happy days!

  2. lisaorchard1

    Looks like you had a great 4th of July holiday. Thanks for sharing it with all of us. 🙂

  3. Time with family is truly a celebration. So good to hear that your travel plans are continuing! ❤

  4. Nothing is better than time with family and friends. And, it looks like you had a grand celebration and captured the memories too!

  5. I have never had a mini taco…sounds yummy. I enjoyed your pictures. I noticed your nephew holding the dog and wondered why…and then you answered. Getting together with friends and family is always a good time.

  6. I feel the same way Bob. It is a wonderful privilege to watch all the new generations as they are making their way in life and in our family but it is a little disconcerting to be the senior member of the family.

  7. Your post about a lovely, multi-generation family gathering made me feel all warm and fuzzy. Many of us Slicers are at that stage where we are passing the baton, but appreciating the chance to do so.

  8. What fun to have family, friends and food! Looks like a great time.
    I am excited to hear about your travels – send pictures if you can!

  9. Judy C.

    What better way to spend celebrating the birth of our Nation – family, friends, and good food. Thanks for sharing your 4th with us. Sounds like you will have quite the crew for Africa.

  10. You had a star spangled Fourth of July with all that food and family. It’s wonderful to have the opportunity to spend time with family.

  11. July 4th was the day for family fun, reunions, and cook-outs when I was a kid. As family members have moved away, the traditions have lapsed. I miss it! Your pictures captured a great day!

  12. How wonderful at great 4th of July and very cool trip ahead. I think Africa is in my travel plans as Tuvia’s grandson starts to plot out his bar mitzvah gift. I’m invited!!!!

  13. A celebration of family, friends, food, and fun…plus amazing travel plans. You had a great 4th. of July, Bob!

Leave a Reply

