Some Things Can’t be Made Up

8a3cc-11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

I was reading the paper on Sunday and saw something in print that I didn’t think anyone but me really thought about.  It was an article on time and the passage of time.

I have often wondered, and apparently so did this writer, why is it that when you are traveling to a destination time seems to pass so slowly, yet coveting the same distance on the way home seems so much faster.

I have often commented to Kathy that it seems to take forever to get to a place.   Is this because of the anticipation?  Is it because we are going somewhere where we have never traveled before and are unsure of the roads we are taking?  Is it because we can’t wait to get to our destination to meet friends or begin a short vacation?  Is it possibly a combination of several of these reasons?

Coming home, on the other hand, seems to take no time at all even though  we are traveling the same amount of miles and most often the same route only in reverse.  I guess it is just one of life’s great mysteries.

On another note, there was a sign posted outside a local gym over the winter months.  Seems like the wind blew some of the letters off so the message was not quite what the owner wanted to say.  However, it was never fixed.  Here’s what the sign had posted on it:

Win e is coming.  Call Art to begin lifting.

I’ll drink to that.  This also got me to thinking.  I have seen signs and also read some church bulletins that had things printed in them that made me smile.  I guess church secretaries don’t have editors.  I also found that there are web sites devoted to these bloopers.  I thought I would share a few that I found.  These made me smile.  Hope they do the same for you.  These are actual and not made up.

Bertha Belch, a missionary from Africa, will be speaking tonight at Calvary Memorial Church in Racine.  Come tonight and hear Berth Belch all the way from Africa.

Ladies, don’t forget the rummage sale.  It’s a chance to get rid of those things not worth keeping around the house.  Don’t forget your husbands.

Please place your donation in the envelope along with the deceased person you want remembered.

Thursday night will be a potluck supper.  Prayer and medication to follow.

For those of you who have children and don’t know it, we have a nursery downstairs.

Weight Watchers will meet at 7 p.m. at the church.  Please use the large double door at the side entrance.

 

31 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

31 responses to “Some Things Can’t be Made Up

  1. Always appreciate your post . . . loving this one today!
    “For those of you who have children and don’t know it, we have a nursery downstairs.” (Punctuation matters)

  2. lisaorchard1

    Great post! I know exactly what you mean about the passage of time. It always seems to take longer to reach our destination than it does to get home. 🙂

  3. Amy

    I had more than a smile! I enjoyed a good old fashioned chuckle. Not sure I can pick a favorite because they are all pretty darn funny. Oh, and I ponder the passage of time too!

  4. Those would be fun to share with kids and talk about the importance of rereading and revising. I have also wondered about time getting to and from places.

  5. Bob, I can always count on you for a good laugh. Now if you could just introduce me to Art.

  6. These bloopers made me laugh out loud! As for the mysteries of time, I had this conversation with my grandchildren as we were driving home from New York after seeing Finding Neverland. Why did it take so long to get there when the trip home seemed so short?

  7. Terje

    Made me chuckle. Thank you for collecting and sharing.

  8. Mission accomplished – those bulletin board messages did make me laugh! Time can play tricks on the traveler, that’s for sure. I’ve often wondered how Fridays seem soooo long; and Sundays go by in a blink.

  9. rosecappelli

    I always love reading bloopers! Thanks for sharing these, Bob!

  10. I found myself nodding my head in total agreement when you were talking about time. It made me think about one of my favorite movies–“About Time”–if you haven’t seen it, I highly recommend watching it. It gives a lot of perspective on how to think about and appreciate time.

  11. Thanks for the laugh! I often wonder the same about the passage of time. I always think why it took forever to get to a place, but the ride home always seems faster.

  12. I also wonder about time when traveling – I ask the same question every time we drive some place.

    Also thanks for the funnies! They were great!

  13. Reading these made me laugh out loud, as they say. Hard to believe they were not (somehow) slyly intentional!

  14. This post made me laugh audibly.

    Additionally, I have been considering airplane travel of late. And what I have determined is this IS present day time travel. I mean – come on. You leave one location and hours later arrive in a different time zone / locale. It’s simply AMAZING!

  15. Judy C.

    Thanks for the chuckle this morning! Gotta love those bloopers. I often wonder if people ever re-read what they write. Yes, I agree on the travel time – it seems to take forever to get to IL to see the kids, but coming home seems so much quicker.

  16. Thanks o much for the chuckle – sure needed it! I know I’ve remarked on the same when travelling – takes forever to get to a place but it sure is faster to get home.

Leave a Reply

