Age is only a Number

8a3cc-11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

 

Three things happened this week that made me feel old, at least for a little bit.This is a bit unusual because I don’t usually give my age much thought even though my body doth protest doing things at times.

First of all I received a letter from Social Security confirming an upcoming appointment to discuss signing up for Medicare.  Medicare!  when I was a kid only old people were on Medicare and now I am signing up for it.  I must be old.

Secondly, I have an appoint this afternoon to listen to someone speak about supplemental health care options including a drug prescription program.  This was always included in my coverage from work.

The third thing that happened took place when I went for my first appointment at cardiac rehab yesterday.  As I was leaving one of the nurses grabbed my hand to look at my high school class ring.  Yes, I still wear it.  Unlike most rings form schools in our area my ring is not the typical round stone.  Here is a picture of it.

class ring

Now, the fact that she wanted a closer look at ti didn’t bother me. The fact that she asked the year, which is 1969 didn’t bother me.  What did get to me was that one of the other nurses said, “Oh, that was the year I was born.” I suddenly felt old.

But then I started thinking.  OK.  I am turning 65.  I collect a pension. I am going on Medicare.  Hey, I worked 40 years to get to this point.  I get a check every month for just sitting home at this point.  I have the freedom to go and do what I want whenever I want.  I am going to Africa in a few months.  I was given a new lease on life.

I am not old.  I am in the prime of my life and I am going to enjoy it to its fullest.  Age is truly just a number.

33 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

33 responses to “Age is only a Number

  1. When I show up now for workshops with teachers I feel like one of the ancient ones! But the younger ones are usually very gracious and accepting. You have lots to share with the younger generations and that will become your new role. And yes, you are now being paid to do the things you want to do. It’s all good.

  2. Hi Bob, Somehow that whole Mdicare thing is more jarring that ny birthday. I am glad you were able to reframe the whole experience. Now is the time to explore portions of life that maybe we were curios about but didn’t have time to cultivate. Sounds like you are doing that. Africa – wow!

  3. I always feel like I’m in my 20s until I’m around 20 year olds then I’m like yea, I’m totally 39. Ha! Age is what you make of it. I love your outlook on the number!

  4. I’m 51 and always giggle nervously when I tell that to people because I don’t feel it. In my head, I’m somewhere in my early 30’s. To my students, my childhood is ancient history.

  5. My body sure seems to be feeling its age…but my mind is still young and eager to learn.

  6. rosecappelli

    We are almost the same age, Bob, but I’ve been on Medicare for a few months now. Some days I feel it, but others, not so much. I try to look at each day as a blessing, as it is. Glad you have a good outlook and are keeping busy and enjoying life! It is a precious gift.

  7. Amy

    Age truly is a number. I would suspect you are young at heart. I always get a chuckle when someone tries to figure out my age. It was nice that you shared this reminder with us today.

  8. I know the feeling – just turned 62. I remembered my mom retiring at 62, not there yet for me. And like you I still feel there is lots of life yet to live!

  9. Terje

    I think there is a big difference in the number-old, body-old, and mind-heart-old. You are mind-heart-young and therefore the numbers catch you off guard.

  10. I’ve been enrolled for a long time now, & so far am pleased, so choose as wisely as you can. There are certain things that make me feel old. I know what you mean, but I just carry on, just like I always do. Someday I won’t be able to (I think.) so no matter what I’m going to miss as little as possible. Thanks for sharing your ideas about the age thing. My mother used to say that when she looked in the mirror she was always surprised! That wasn’t the “girl” she felt like.

  11. Judy C.

    Ah, yes, Bob, age is only a number. I’ve been on Medicare for several + years now. It was traumatic when that day arrived, but overall, a good thing. Hubby and I were just discussing that we are glad to have been born when we were and wouldn’t want to be starting our careers now.

  12. “I am not old. I am in the prime of my life and I am going to enjoy it to its fullest. ”

    HUZZAH! Ya darn skippy!

  13. In traditional Chinese culture, people didn’t celebrate individual birthdays until age 60. You haven’t lived until then. Enjoy your trip to Africa!

  14. Great post! I am a year behind you. I feel old when “historical events” are talked about by the teachers around me and I think that is not historical – It happened just a few years ago. Their response is but I wasn’t born yet or I was a baby. So older age has arrived but I am still planning of lots of years of fun in the sun! Enjoy your trip! ( Now I am wondering where my ring went to?)

  15. Definitely – just a number! Older = wiser!

  16. We are the same age and at the same stage in our lives. I just got the forms for my Old Age (!!!) Pension from the gov’t to fill out – now that makes me feel old. But I have earned the right to do what I want when I want – 36+ years of teaching and now I am retired. We need to listen to Abe Lincoln: “In the end, it’s not the years in your life that count. It’s the life in your years.” Loved your post!

  17. If you’re old, then you’re the youngest old person I know. You travel, you blog, you attend teaching conferences… you act younger than I do!

    I turned 40 last year and felt the sting a little bit. Then I reminded myself that you’re only as old as you feel, and I feel pretty damn good.

  18. You’re younger than my parents, Bob, and they’re not old. Therefore, you’re not old either.

    That’s a lovely class ring. I can understand why you still wear it.

    BTW: I realized I’m going to get my AARP card when my next child is still in elementary school. Now that’s old!

Leave a Reply

