An Unexpected Invitation

8a3cc-11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

Last month I hinted that Kathy and I were going to take a trip this summer.  Then things happened and I never got back to it.  Well, today is the day.

I remember the day the invitation came – January 8.  I remember because it was the day I passed a kidney stone and was in pain.

The phone call came around 9:00 A.M.  It was Foster, our nephew’s mother-in-law.  I admit that sometimes I just half hear what is being said to me.  Just ask Kathy and she would probably say it is more than half.

Anyway, because my mind was focused on my pain I wasn’t fully comprehending what Foster was asking.  I got that she was inviting Kathy and me to something.  I just assumed it was to their house for dinner.  Right away my response was, “Sure, what can we bring?”  I know Foster and her family really like a red velvet cake so I was willing to make one.

Then she started asking if we had passports and if they were up to date.  Huh?  Last time I was in Reading I didn’t need a passport.  I started listening more carefully trying to forget the pain I was experiencing.  Finally I understood what Foster’s invitation was and I admit that it knocked me off of my feet.

This wasn’t an invitation to dinner.  It was so much more.  Foster and her family were going to take a trip back to their country of origin and she was inviting Kathy and Me to go along with them.  That is why we needed passports.

To shorten this Kathy and I said “Yes” so we will be traveling this August.  Some of you know where we are going because I have mentioned it in comments on your posts.  Everyone else, tune in tomorrow to see where we are going.

15 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

15 responses to “An Unexpected Invitation

  1. I can hardly wait to find out.

  2. Me, too! I love an adventure.

  3. How exciting. Can’t wait until tomorrow to find out. But….a good homemade red velvet cake sounds delicious. I have not made one in quite awhile, but they are so much better than any I have gotten from bakeries or stores.

  4. Traveling with a passport is a perfect reason to follow doctor’s orders so you can join in the group. I’m leaving in a couple of weeks for a trip that requires a passport too.

  5. Tune in tomorrow? Tomorrow? Seriously?
    Paybacks, I know. Excited for you wherever that passport takes you. Nothing like an adventure.

  6. What a wonderful way to explore a country – with those who are connecting to their roots. You’ll be looking at the country with a different set of eyes than most. I can’t wait to hear where you are going!

  7. Ooooooh! I like the pseudo mystery of this. I’m sure it’s going to be a most wonderful trip. Nice way to “leave ’em wanting more.” you tease!

  8. Oh my…this sounds exciting!

  9. Yum, red velvet cake. My dad is a 50-60% listener, which also leads him to some nice surprises 🙂 I can’t wait to find out where you’re going! Sorry about the kidney stone, ouch!

  10. rosecappelli

    Cliffhanger!! Love it.

  11. Sounds fabulous after all you’ve been through, & I don’t know where either, you tricky person. Now will have to wait. . . It’s okay, very happy for you!

  12. Sounds so exciting. What a wonderful invitation.

    Cathy

  13. Kidney stones are MISERABLE! I had to chuckle when you were all ready to make red velvet cake but needed a passport instead. I’m anxious to find out your destination!

  14. Amy

    Ohhhh! I love a “tune in tomorrow” post! I can hardly wait.

  15. You must be feeling really good. Happy to hear that you are going to travel. Can’t wait for the reveal.

Leave a Reply

