I’m Tired

8a3cc-11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

After two weeks of visiting nurses and post op doctor visits I am tired.  Today I had an appointment with a cardiologist.  Not a major problem except that it was in Reading , in a building I have never been in before and had no idea where it was.

The appointment was for 10:15 which meant leaving the house at 9:45, which meant getting up at 6:30 to feed the beasties, have breakfast, and get myself ready.  I admit that it takes me longer to get ready than it once did.

I know this is not all that early, but based on the other meetings and appointments I just could face another one today.

As Kathy drove us down, I did something I have never done before…I took a nap in the car.

To give myself a pick-me-up after the appointment and after getting blood work done I thought I had to do something for Kathy.  After all, she has been carting me from appointment to appointment.  I figured the best I could do for her was take her to Red Lobster for lunch, providing she would drive us there.

She did.  I admit that I did not have the healthiest lunch item on the menu – crab Alfredo -but it was so good.  Back to healthy eating tomorrow.

I then needed something to boost my spirits.  What better way than a stop at Barnes and Noble for some books.  There is a new Jeffrey Deaver and a new Harlan Coban that I have had my eye on.  They now sit next to my chair in the living room.

Next week is booked solid with appointments, but I know I can now get through them.  Today I was just plain tired.

24 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

24 responses to “I’m Tired

  1. OOOOH! Love Deaver and Coban . . . and I need some traveling books. THANKS! Hope you get over the tired soon! I think your two treats (lunch and books) will BOTH help!

  2. Glad you were able to write your post. A yummy lunch and trip to the book store sounded like the perfect medicine for today. Hope you feel better soon!

  3. I’m glad you treated yourself to crab and Jeffrey Deaver. You’ve captured the fatigue… I got tired just reading it. Warm hugs to you.

  4. I know how it is to go from dr appt to dr appt. Hang in there! Enjoy your new books!! Best of luck!

  5. Sometimes the recovery phase is the hardest, with the endless appointments and nothing fun to eat.

  6. My husband sounds like you. He had a pace maker put in 5 weeks ago and he is still adjusting. Work wants him back and there’s a meeting tomorrow re restrictions. But he has trouble raising even his good arm – which is also his dialysis arm (he was on dialysis for a year and a half before his kidney transplant almost 13 years ago.) He is tired of the appts., the pain, the lack of good info. But he keeps going. Sounds like you do the same – just keep going day by day. You’ll get there. All the best.

  7. I hope that you can get some rest in the meantime. Good food and a trip to the bookstore sounds perfect!

  8. Sometimes a good nap works wonders. I’ve always thought doctor’s appointments made me feel more exhausted than the reason that sent me to the doctor in the first place. I was happy to read that crab Alfredo and Harlan Coben brought some cheer! Praying tomorrow will be better!

  9. Booked solid, you say. Hope the booked part is what you got at B & N. 🙂 You are so good to take Kathy out for a great lunch. She is a gem!

  10. It takes time and rest for your body to heal after any type of operation…let alone major heart surgery. It is always good to reward yourself, and of course, Kathy, with a treat at a favorite restaurant. Please, listen to your body…if it needs a nap…take it (like you did in the car). I am sure the kitties would love to share in napping.

  11. You are so right. The body knows what it needs and it is always best to listen.

  12. Amy

    Red Lobster and a trip to Barnes & Noble are a reward you deserve! Enjoy your books. They may even turn into a blog post.

  13. You are still recovering, and you had a busy day…but now you have good books to put your feet up and dive into. Take care of yourself, Bob!

  14. I’m not surprised you are tired. You’ve been through a lot these past weeks, and perhaps the problem you had started making you tired, too? I’m glad you had your yummy meal, and two good books, nothing better. I’ve heard the Coben book is good. I do like his stories. Enjoy just being home now.

Leave a Reply

