My Doctor Gives Me A Headache

8a3cc-11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

You know how you know something is wrong but you just can’t put your finger on what it is?  For a while I have been feeling what for me is not normal.  Every time I would do anything that involved some kind of physical exertion I would end up with some chest pain.  I didn’t have numbness or shortness of breath, just this discomfort.

I figured I should tell my doctor, Dr. Hafiz, when I had my last appointment.  I did and he scheduled me for an exercise echo which I had done last Friday.  His staff has got to be one of the best.  First, Tanya (hope I have her name correct) took me back and got me hooked up.  We had to then wait for Lori to bring the echo machine down.  She was a bit backed up.

After the resting echo of my heart Dr. Hafiz came in and we began the treadmill portion of the test.  I admit that I didn’t last as long as they would have liked.  It was then a quick hop back to the table so that Lori could do a second echo while my heart was still beating rapidly.

Dr. Hafiz was kind enough co give me copies of both results because he knew I would blog about them today.  Here are the pictures.

It might be a bit difficult to see but the second one shows my heart after the treadmill.  The circled spots show that there is a problem.  According to Dr. Hafiz the oxygen supply and demand are out of kilter.  I am not getting the amount I need when doing any kind of exercise.

He suggested that I have a catheterization done to see if I need a stent.  He wanted it done this week.  I got a call from a heart group in Reading this morning and I am scheduled to see a doctor on Thursday.  She will discuss things with me and set up an appointment for the test.

In the meantime, Dr, Hafiz gave me a time released nitro tablet to take daily.  Hence the title of this slice.  The nitro gives me a headache so I have had one everyday since I started taking the medication.  It usually wears off my around six o’clock.

My one concern with having this done now is that I signed up for the March challenge and to be part of the Welcome Wagon.  I will not be able to complete the challenge because there will be at least two days when I will be out of commission and not be able to post during the month.  I will probably not post comments on those days as well, but Betsy said she take care of those assigned to me for those days –  thank you, Betsy.

Oh well, at least I’ll have some topics to write about during the month.

 

36 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

36 responses to “My Doctor Gives Me A Headache

  1. lisaorchard1

    So sorry to hear about your heart troubles, but at least you caught it before you had a heart attack. I hope everything goes well for you!

  2. Sending thoughts and prayers your way – please keep us updated! I always enjoy your posts. As I’m reading, I always feel that I’m part of a lively conversation. I hope you are feeling much better soon!

  3. Stressful, I imagine. Thank you for bravely using writing as one of your outlets. All the best as you take next steps.

  4. The last thing you should worry about is the challenge. Glad you mentioned this to the doctor so something could be solved before it became a crisis. Take care, Bob. We’ll be praying for you.

  5. Your health comes first — before any writing challenge — Bob. Thank you to Betsy for stepping up. If she hadn’t, I was going to offer.
    Let us know how you’re doing after Reading.

  6. Erika Haak

    Thinking of you and praying for them to fix you right up! Glad they found it early 🙂

  7. So glad you get checked and listened to your body. I always read your posts and feel like a friend, even though we have never met. Will keep you in my thoughts and will send positive and healing prayers your way.

    • It is amazing how many friends I have never met I have made through these slices. I really appreciate each and every one. Positive thoughts and healing prayers are always welcome. Thank you.

  8. Terje

    Health comes first. Take care of yourself. Listen to the doctor. I hope he will find a solution and not blame the situation on age. I hope he will be able to find medicine that makes you feel better without hurtful side effects.

  9. I’ll be happy to help out too. Sorry and glad I am all at the same time. Sorry you have the problem, but terrific that they found out what will help. Take good care of yourself in the meantime! We’ll all be sending the most positive thoughts.

  10. Be well Bob, and after the procedure you have a quick recovery with no headaches and be back to writing your always humorous posts that I look forward to reading.

  11. Thinking of you, Bob, and wishing you a speedy recovery. So like you, to add humor to a slice like this. Begone headache!

  12. Oh so sorry to hear about the heart but so glad you are getting it taken care of. Write when you feel like it. We can pick up the new slicers – who knows you might feel like reading a few posts as you lay around after all this craziness. We will be thinking of you and waiting for your return!! Take Care!

  13. Ah the heart – for all its strengths is such a delicate thing, is it not? I’m glad both your physical and physiological heart, by the doctor and the slices respectively are being taken care of. I look forward to reading your post when the headaches are no longer a part of your everyday.

  14. Judy C.

    Bob, so sorry to hear that things are not quite right with your heart. Thankful that you listened to your body and got the test. Many prayers and thoughts being sent your way for a successful procedure and solution to your problem. Hope the headaches subside.

  15. Bob,
    So glad that you caught the issue now and not later. There will be other days and challenges. Thoughts and prayers for a speedy recovery!

  16. Lisa

    So glad you followed up and let the doctor figure out what is happening! Best wishes to you.

  17. My thoughts are with you. Listen to the doctor and take your time in your healing process.

Leave a Reply

