Valentine’s Day

8a3cc-11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

It has been many years since Kathy and I have gone out to eat on Valentine’s.  Neither of us likes the crowds, waiting,  and sometimes being rushed through our meal because someone else is waiting for our table.  We might go out for dinner the day before or the day after.

This year we broke our cook-a-meal at home routine.  We went to Red Lobster for dinner.  We were meeting my brother and his wife as well as another couple there.  I will explain the reason for this dinner meeting in a future post because I am still trying to wrap my head around what will be happening this summer.

Anyway, we had planned on meeting at 4:00.  Since Kathy and I had the farthest travel time, 1 hour and 15 minutes, we left early.  Besides, Kathy wanted to stop at Jo-Ann fabrics first.

We got to Red Lobster at 3:30.  The parking lot was packed – no surprise.  I let Kathy out at the door to go get out names on the waiting list and I proceeded to look for a place to park the car.

There must have been 6 other people looking for spots as well.  Forget manners and any kind of protocol.  Drivers were pushing in front of others who were waiting for a spot to snatch it from them.  Horns were honking with impatient drivers wanting to move when there was no where to go.

It seems that I was never in the right place at the right time because after 20 minutes I still had no parking spot ever those who came after me found some.  I decided to leave the lot and look elsewhere for a place to park.

There was a Mexican restaurant next to Red Lobster.  I drove into there lot and by dumb luck found a spot.  I admit that it was unethical to park in one restaurant’s lot and walk over to another because I was taking the spot of one of their patrons. At that point though, I didn’t care.

As a side note, my brother and our friends had no trouble getting a spot on Red Lobster’s lot.  Anyway, I got in, we were seated at a table in the back where it was quiet and we could carry on a conversation, our waiter was excellent, and the food was delicious.  Next year,though, I think I am going back to eating at home.

20 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

20 responses to “Valentine’s Day

  1. Jackie Haworth Hoy

    Glad that your meal was good and that your table was in a quiet place. I can just see you driving around the parking lot searching for a spot. Ray and I do the same as you and Kathy. We tend to stay in on days where lots of people want to go out. Less crowds and rush that way.

  2. I loved your description of the crazy, crowded parking lot; and I can’t wait to find out what’s in store for you this summer.

  3. Drivers in parking lots are the rudest drivers anywhere – so aggressive and unethical! But, it sounds like a lovely dinner with great company.

  4. Oh I do love those Red Lobster biscuits! Parking is such a hassle at any Red Lobster. They never have enough spaces. You’ve piqued my curiosity on your future plans. 🙂

  5. Judy C.

    Love Red Lobster (our closest one is 2 hrs. away by Elsie). And yes, parking is always a hassle. Glad you had an enjoyable dinner out, but I too prefer staying in on Valentine’s Day. Can’t wait to hear about your summer plans.

  6. Wow! That was a long drive for dinner!

    We ate out for Valentine’s Day this year since my parents were in town and willing to babysit. However, we typically eat-in. I suppose it’s because Valentine’s Day doesn’t feel like that big of a deal to me. I love my husband, but I’d rather do something big on our wedding anniversary, which feels like it belongs to us rather than to every other couple.

  7. Going out to eat on these Hallmark holidays is always less than satisfactory and usually a huge hassle.

  8. We stayed home! Neither of us wanted the fight! But we are going on a yoga retreat next weekend – a whole weekend with yoga, a pool, hot tub and great food. This is really our Valentines gift to each other.

    So glad your meal was good – now I am ready to hear about the plans!

  9. Ah, Red Lobster…hope those cheesy biscuits were worth the parking trouble. I am a PA person too!

  10. I hope whatever it was you had to talk about and the food helped soothe your spirit. It is amazing how things like that can ruin a perfectly good evening.

  11. I’m glad you made it for dinner! And now you’ve given a hint to make us all wonder what’s up for next summer. What a tricky slice!

Leave a Reply

