Watching for a Change

On Thanksgiving Kathy and I went down to my brother’s for dinner.  We have been doing this for the last several years.  Time spent with family is always nice.

I pick up my other brother and the three of us head down.  I like road trips.  If you have been reading my posts for a while you know that if the mood strikes, Kathy and I take off for the day.   Sometimes it might be just to go and get dinner.

There are so many interesting things to see while in the cat.  I admit that I miss most of them because I am driving.  Kathy will often say, “Oh, look at that,”  or, “Did you see that?”  Most times my answer will be , “No, I didn’t.”

There is one thing, however, that I try not to miss when we are out.  This just shows how little it takes to get me excited.  I love when the odometer rolls over so that the mileage reads the same frontwards as backwards.  What can I say?  I need to get a life.

Anyway, the latest milestone occurred on Thanksgiving after I dropped my brother off at his place and we were going home.  It happened just as we got to the Hegins exit on I-81.  The odometer turned.

odometer

How cool!  I wonder where I will be when it reaches 82628, or 83000 (not the same I know), or…I really got to get a life.

I will say that I do miss the old cars where the odometer counted tenths of a mile.  That really led to anticipation as you saw the numbers roll over.

 

17 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

17 responses to “Watching for a Change

  1. Is it an ‘old’ thing? I watch the odometer too, and love when a milestone happens. I never thought about taking a picture, but maybe next time I will. Love those palindromes. My oldest granddaughter’s social security number is one. We think it’s great!

  2. My son used to do this when he was little – always such a celebration from the back seat when we’d hit a milestone. The only dial I pay attention to is the gas indicator…although I have been known to forget to look at that one, too.

  3. I’m wondering if it is a male thing. My husband get all excited about the odometer turning over also. I did like the old fashioned one. It made it much easier to go out and retrace my steps and find out how far I walked. Life before I phones.

  4. I know I can look forward to some quirky point of view every time I read your slice. Truth be told, I’ve never notice the palindrome of numbers. You give the gift of a smile with your writing.

  5. We’ve been known to drive a extra distance to celebrate a special number when we’re all in the car! Thanks for the wonderful memory!

  6. I can so relate to this – maybe it is an age-ism . . . I love seeing the palindromes or any other numbers that I can turn into a conversation!!! I chuckled at the “Did you see . . .?”

    Really, do you want me to drive and pay attention to the road? Or am I supposed to be gawking around? PLEASE, tell me my job!

    🙂

  7. There are others! I’ve never known anyone else who watches for odometer palindromes. I enjoyed reading about your excitement over special numbers because I can totally relate. In my car, the trip meter is just beneath my odometer, so once in a blue moon, I get treated to palindromes on both at the same time! I also miss the rolling numbers of an old car. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

