More PCTELA

8a3cc-11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

Last week I talked about going to the PCTELA conference.  This week I thought I would share a bit more about it.

The conference takes place over two days – Friday and Saturday.  For the last few years I usually work the registration table along with another person.  Because people are still coming in and picking up their materials packet during the opening featured speaker’s presentation, I don’t get a chance to hear the speaker.  This year was no exception.

I did, however, sneak in to get a few pictures of him.

Pctela 2015 #1PCTELA 2015 #2H. Bernard Hall is an assistant professor of English Education at West Chester University.  His topic was “Hip-Hop Education”.  From the little I heard while taking pictures it was an extremely interesting presentation.  I wish I had had the chance to hear more.

As you can see from this picture, those hearing him were interested.

PCTELA 2015 #3

One of the things that makes this conference fun is that there are door prizes given away each day of the conference.  Here are the prizes for Friday.

PCTELA 2015 #4

Now that there was a break at registration, I was able to attend a breakout session.I chose “Supporting the Literacy Skills of Students on the Spectrum” which was given by Aileen Hower.

PCTELA 2015 #5

Aileen spoke about different types of students speaking of their strengths as well as their needs. One point she made is that a useful strategy that works with autistic students is to ask them to “Make your body match” – see what others are doing and emulate.

One nice thing about PCTELA is that included in the conference fee is breakfast and lunch.  The food at the Hilton in Harrisburg was delicious.  Here you can see people going through the lunch line.

PCTELA 2015 #6

After lunch it was it was time for the next featured speaker – Cynthia Lord.  Cynthia spoke of the 4 things needed to become a writer: read – Write – Learn – Dream.

She also spoke of the job of an editor which is to “push you to a point where you write what you couldn’t have written when you started:.

Pctela 2015 #10

It was then off to another breakout session.  This time it was “A Novel Approach: Teaching Research Skills Through Historical Fiction: by Cindy Minnich.  Cindy is a friend of mine.  Infact, we worked for the same district although different schools.  She teaches in the High School where I taught in the Middle School.  She is just amazing.  The ideas, the energy, the caring for her students.  If you are ever at a conference and you get a chance to hear her I strongly urge you to go.  You will not be disappointed.

PCTELA 2015 #11

Following round table discussions day one of PCTELA came to a close.  This is getting wordy so I think I will keep day two until next week.

11 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

11 responses to “More PCTELA

  1. It is always fun to learn from others and confirm that your thinking is on the right track. Sounds like you had interesting sessions, and I recognize a few names of slicers too. 🙂 I love listening to authors talk!

  2. Thanks for helping me get there. I had planned to go and present, but I couldn’t because of the surgery. Hoping to make it there next year. What are the dates? It’s in State College, right?

    • Yes. In fact, all of the registration information, with an early bird discount, plus the featured speakers information can be found at pctela.org. As you know, I am co-chairing next year’s conference so I am hoping for a good turn out. Would love to have you present next year.

  3. I missed last week’s post, but this conference sound wonderful. You saw a lot of good people present.

  4. Judy C.

    Good presenters, good food and gifts too. What more could one ask for?

  5. rosecappelli

    Sounds like a worthwhile experience. When I was planning the KSRA conference I picked up ideas from other conferences I attended. I love learning at conferences and can now appreciate all the behind the scenes work!

  6. Wow – that was an all star cast…and great food, too. No wonder you enjoyed the event!

  7. Terje

    Lucky you to get to be part of a very useful and enjoyable conference. These kind of events give energy and inspiration.

Leave a Reply

